RSS

Beloved Duluth

02 Jun

My home away from home has long been Duluth, Minnesota, where the huge ships come and go, where the atmosphere is always so happy.  It’s a beautiful place, and the closest I have been to seeing an ocean in my life.  Seeing the ocean is on my to-do list. 🙂

Last week when we went to Duluth, it was so cold and windy.  You’d think this would be a bad thing, but it was great news!  I got to see some amazing and breathtaking waves.  Usually when I’ve gone to see any of the Great Lakes, it is calm.  I always wanted to see it wild with wind.  And so I had this chance last week.  I hope you enjoy the photos, though unfortunately, they really can’t capture the depth and scale of the water.

Here is a short video of the waves.  Don’t mind the chit-chat in the background.  My dad and I were talking as I filmed this.

Isn’t it something?

This ship was anchored offshore.  In the current, it slowly seemed to spin in circles out there.

And boy, was it windy!  Here you can see me…kind of… 😉

And we were fortunate to see a ship pull out.  This one was a thousand feet long and took longer than two minutes to pass us by as it headed out.  The captain blew the horn for my nephews and niece as they passed by. 🙂

It was so long!

The following pair of photos were taken within a few seconds of each other.

If you click the photo below, you’ll see how many seagulls trailed this ship as it left.  There were literally hundreds of them.  I’m not sure if they were sending it off, or going with it.

There it goes.  These giant ships will forever take my breath away!

Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in Photography, Videos

 

8 responses to “Beloved Duluth

  1. Judy

    June 4, 2012 at 9:42 PM

    Jenna….this was fun to view! The video was great! Your photos are fantastic!
    My husband was born in Duluth and lived there until he was 5. His parents and extended family were from there too. I’ve been there once, and when we viewed your photos, I said…”why don’t we go again?” 🙂 See, you are inspiring!

     
    • Jenna

      June 5, 2012 at 10:51 AM

      Thanks much, Judy! How interesting that your husband was born in Duluth. I highly recommend that you go again! It is such a beautiful place. Go for it! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the photos and video.

       
  2. zorgor

    June 4, 2012 at 10:02 PM

    That’s some wind. Yeah, the ore boats certainly are majestic! I think the seagulls were going with. Yeah sure you betcha!

     
    • Jenna

      June 5, 2012 at 10:53 AM

      Isn’t it though? 🙂 I just love those huge ships. They are so timeless. Thanks for the comments. I too think the seagulls are going with. I think it’s in their job description to annoy the people aboard. 😉

       
  3. zorgor

    June 6, 2012 at 2:10 PM

    The great lakes really are fresh-water inland seas. The ocean is… bluer, thicker, contains seagulls instead of ducks (of course there are seagulls there too), and believe it or not can still be warm when it’s that windy. Oh, and it’s a little bigger too. But other than that, it’s about the same. 🙂

    Speaking of oceans, astronomers think Europa, the tiny moon of Jupiter, may actually have more water than Earth: http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap120524.html

     
    • Jenna

      June 7, 2012 at 12:33 PM

      I suppose you’re right, Zorgor. I don’t think they are much different all in all, I had to pause at the word “thicker”….the ocean is thicker than lakes? As in the water is more dense? This I have not heard…

      Interesting stuff! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        June 7, 2012 at 4:04 PM

        Well I was being funny, and I don’t know about the density, but with all the salt sea water is a little bit thicker of a liquid… It’s not that noticeable really, but it is easier to float in…

         
  4. Jenna

    June 8, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    I understand Zorgor! 😀 Silly moment on my part.

     

Leave a Reply

 
