RSS

Dachshund in Dots WIP

05 Jun

I have started a new “serious” drawing (meaning one I will spend many days on) and it’s going to be in the stippling technique, which is slow, but always nicely challenging.  After having such a good time drawing the Boxer, I’ve chosen to draw a Dachshund.  They are such funny little dogs, aren’t they?  Not to mention as cute as can be.

There isn’t much to see yet, but that’s how they all start.  Unfortunately, the photo quality is pretty poor, but it will give you an idea anyway.

I’m using Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens, drawing this on Strathmore 400 series Bristol Smooth paper.  It is 8×10 inches in size.

Here is the graphite outline.  I’ve darkened this quite a lot on my computer so the outline can actually be seen.  I always start with graphite…ink is not very mistake-friendly!

Here is how it looks now, with the introduction of some ink.  It’s a start.  Funny, with the boxer, too, I started with the ear.

Thank you for looking.  As usual, these WIP’s go on for quite a while.  I hope you’ll join me in this dachshund journey. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2012 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

2 responses to “Dachshund in Dots WIP

  1. Inspired and pretty

    June 12, 2012 at 6:32 PM

    Ooooh….I anticipate it’s going to be a great drawing Dachshund are so cute, they make me smile each time I see one. My favourite is the wire-haired Dachshund and I also like the long haired Dachshund. Can’t wait to see more photos as you progress with the drawing !

     
    • Jenna

      June 12, 2012 at 10:22 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! Aren’t dachshunds the funniest little dogs? The wire-haired and long-haired breeds are cute to be sure. 🙂 Thank you. I hope to work on this drawing again soon.

       

Leave a Reply

 
