RSS

Hapless Cat

09 Jun

And now for something quite different…

Wanting to take a break from more serious artwork, I impulsively put a crisp, fresh canvas on my easel, took out some pleasing colors of acrylic paints, my trusty gel, and some palette knives and began to sling paint.  It was so refreshing to use a lot of paint, almost to the point of being wasteful. 😮

The acrylic gel is fantastic stuff that gives a high-gloss sheen to the paint and also allows it to hold texture.  If there are any readers out there who work in acrylics, you know how flat the paint dries and how matte the finish is.  This is a great way to add a vibrant touch to the paint.  I love making the paint’s peaks stand up and stay put.  The knives are just the tool for making these peaks.  The paintings take just a couple of hours or so done in this style.  I also recently finished a whimsical bee as a commission which I may post another time.

After using this gel with the palette knives, I definitely want to explore the world of acrylic mediums further and pick up some other kinds of knives.  Can’t wait to get to the art store.

I had in mind to paint a cat…a sort of sad-faced, hapless cat with his fur going every which way.  After all, we all have our bad hair days, even cats.

Hapless Cat

-8×10 primed and stretched canvas

-Basics brand acrylics and Golden brand regular acrylic gel (gloss)

-Painted mostly with palette knives, and also with a round brush for a few later details.

The textures are a lot of fun to play with. 🙂

Thank you for looking!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in All Artwork, Paintings

 

6 responses to “Hapless Cat

  1. zorgor

    June 9, 2012 at 7:29 PM

    Woah! Abstraction! Color! Am I on the right blog?? 🙂

    This is awesome! This looks really great! I will now disregard anything you ever said about hesitation with color and abstraction! This is really, really good! I knew you had it in you.

     
    • Jenna

      June 9, 2012 at 10:18 PM

      Zorgor, I know. I can hardly believe it myself! 😉

      Thank you so much! I am glad to hear you like this. It means a lot coming from you. It does feel good to relax and throw some bright paints around. Thanks again. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        June 9, 2012 at 10:42 PM

        You should relax and throw bright paints around more often imo. For me that’s the fun part!

         
  2. janukke

    June 10, 2012 at 11:03 AM

    Oh, I am enjoying your blog so much! 🙂 This is fantastic. 😀

    x Jana

     
    • Jenna

      June 10, 2012 at 8:30 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! It means so much that you are enjoying my blog. I appreciate it! 🙂

       
  3. Jenna

    June 10, 2012 at 8:29 PM

    Thanks for the encouragement, Zorgor! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
