RSS

More Dachshund Dots

20 Jun

The early stages can be a little slow in ink, but I have been picking away at this drawing.  Now that I have a relatively solid mass of dots on the ear, I can move on toward the rest of the dog.  Being left-handed, I realize too late that I should have started with the snout so I don’t rub my hand into the ink, but one must move forward regardless.

Part of what inspired me to draw this dachshund was the impish expression of the dog in the reference photo I’m using.  I hope to capture that look as I go.

Here’s a closeup.

Thank you for looking.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

10 responses to “More Dachshund Dots

  1. janukke

    June 23, 2012 at 6:44 AM

    This is totally amazing! I am so glad that you are sharing these dots with us. I am enjoying this lots. 🙂

    x Jana

     
    • Jenna

      June 24, 2012 at 3:35 PM

      Thanks so much, Jana! I am very happy you’re enjoying the process! 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    June 27, 2012 at 9:27 PM

    It’s going to be another great one Jenna. You’re right, he has that impish expression on his face, so cute ! Drawing all these dots must certainly requires lots of patience, which you obviously have !

     
    • Jenna

      June 29, 2012 at 12:26 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’ve got one eye nearly done now with the drawing, and will post an update soon. I appreciate the kind comments! 🙂

       
  3. Judy

    July 1, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    It’s fun to see the earlier dachshund drawing, Jenna. You have done so much with it! It’s just incredible. I cannot imagine! I’d have no idea where to put the next dot! 😉

     
    • Jenna

      July 1, 2012 at 10:42 PM

      Thank you so much, Judy! Those dots are more forgiving than they look. True, they don’t erase, but you hardly notice each dot, so they aren’t quite as scary as they might appear at first. Thanks again. I really appreciate the kind comments! 🙂

       
  4. zorgor

    July 1, 2012 at 9:10 PM

    Hmm. You could flip it upside down…

     
    • Jenna

      July 1, 2012 at 10:43 PM

      This is true, Zorgor. I suppose I could. But my mind doesn’t like to work that way…I fear if I tipped it upside-down, I would make more mistakes. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        July 1, 2012 at 10:48 PM

        Eh, just turn the dog upside down too. He won’t mind. 🙂

        I’m kidding, you’re probably right. I wouldn’t try that with something realistic.

         
  5. Jenna

    July 1, 2012 at 11:08 PM

    Hahaha! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
