RSS

Flowers and Furry Things

25 Jun

Now that summer has arrived, my photography has come to its traditional standstill.  I don’t know what it is, but I use my camera less in the summer months than in the fall and spring.  I suppose it’s that there isn’t a lot of change in nature this time of year.

However, I did get some photos in the last few days of some of the flowers around and, of course, of the kittens.

After seeing the idea on this blog, I decided to use some food cans for flower pots.  I did not paint mine…I rather like the metal on its own and I also like the fact that they will likely rust as the season goes on.  This one is hanging on the rain gauge, attached with the same trusty fencing wire I use for my sculptures.

Here are some other plants around.  They are so cheerful!

Those dear little kittens you’ve seen in the past are growing up so quickly.  Their mothers moved them and, sadly, by the time I found them, they had grown up a lot and now fear people.  I rarely can pick them up, and they never seem comfortable around me no matter how I try to gentle them.  They are as cute as ever though!

I rather like the photo below because the gray kitten has a mouthful of orange-kitten-ear. 🙂  How they love to play!

The proud papa, himself.

He seems to love these kittens.  I can tell they love him – they always go after his tail, and he lays there and lets them.

Have a great day! 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Photography

 

4 responses to “Flowers and Furry Things

  1. Judy

    July 1, 2012 at 3:39 PM

    I love the kitties, Jenna! You captured their sweetness so well with your camera. I have trouble taking photos of my kids’ foster kittens! They seem to always be moving, jumping, diving into boxes, chasing, etc! I can get photos when they’re sleeping! And I love your flower “cans”! How creative! I think the silver color is great too! Thanks for a wonderful summer post! I think you should get your camera out in the summer more often! Your flower images are lovely!

     
    • Jenna

      July 1, 2012 at 10:51 PM

      Thank you so much, Judy! I smiled when I read your post. I can definitely relate to the challenge of photographing kittens! There were many dud shots of blurred kittens running and playing when I took these. I’m glad you like these photos. It took a while to get them! And thank you. I have “stuffstephdoes” to thank for the idea. I thought it was pretty cool!

      I appreciate the comments. Thank you!

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    July 2, 2012 at 10:17 PM

    What a fun post ! I love the photo of the kitten biting the ear, so funny ! It’s sad you can’t pick them anymore 😦
    Your flowers are beautiful, the flower in the photo no.124 is amazing, I have never seen this colour anywhere before. Dahlias are so pretty, I love the pot in which they are planted, the more rust the better 🙂 And what a great idea to plant flowers in metal can ! I would never have come up with this idea ! I adore your close-up photo of the bud, there’s such a beautiful softness in that photo.
    Have a nice week Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      July 3, 2012 at 11:03 PM

      Thanks so much, Jocelyne! I am sad the kittens are being so shy too…I keep working with them – they may come around yet. Thanks! The black/violet and yellow petunias really caught my eye at the greenhouse. I love the velvety blackness of them. I’m glad you like them too. Dahlias are beautiful. They are so full and cheerful. As for the bud, it is from the same dahlia plant as you probably knew. I love the buds on that plant…they tend to look like little babies somehow. I really appreciate your kind comments. Thanks so much! Have a great week yourself!

       

Leave a Reply

 
