RSS

Dachshund Dots (Part Three)

30 Jun

Dear old dachshund has come a little ways now.  There is an eye in place, and more definition and depth throughout the piece.  I’m really starting to enjoy this drawing.  It seemed to take a while to find the inspiration, but now that there’s an eye looking back at me, I seem a little more driven to continue. 🙂

Here’s a close shot taken at an angle to show the textures.

Some time ago, a few of you showed interest in my making a video of my drawing process.  I’ve made a short video here for you to see.  The majority of this is sped up by 32x (which goes to show you how slow this process goes).  However, the part in the middle that is zoomed in close to the pen tip is real time.  I fall into a rhythm with this and the tap-tap-tap of the pen seems to keep a sort of beat.  I hope you enjoy this little video.

Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2012 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink, Videos

 

8 responses to “Dachshund Dots (Part Three)

  1. Judy

    July 1, 2012 at 3:19 PM

    Jenna….your dot drawing is amazing! I can’t imagine how difficult this must be. Sketching is hard! And I’m so partial to dachshunds! I had dachshunds as pets when I was growing up. You’ve captured their look so well….those big brown eyes, the wrinkled brow! Perfect!

     
    • Jenna

      July 1, 2012 at 11:03 PM

      You’re so kind! Thanks for the very generous comments, Judy! I’ve been drawing most of my life, and the challenge each piece gives is why I keep going back for more. It’s definitely a labor of love. 🙂

      Really? I’ve never had a dachshund, but always wanted one. They are so adorable and seem so funny. It means even more to know that someone with experience with this breed approves of this drawing. Thank so much!

       
  2. janukke

    July 2, 2012 at 12:06 PM

    Jenna, this is wonderful. I am totally in love with your dots. I admire your talent and patience immensely! But how frustrating: I. can. not. watch. your. videos. Bleeh. I really really want to find out how to do that. I already installed my javascript, flashplayer and webbrowser anew. Didn´t work. Oh well, I will keep trying. Wonderful pictures btw, especially the close-up of the eye.

     
    • Jenna

      July 3, 2012 at 11:05 PM

      Thank you, Jana! It means a lot to hear you like my stippling technique and are enjoying the process. 🙂 I am so sorry the video doesn’t work for you. I have been trying to look for any flaws on this end too. Sure wish I could find the problem so you could see the videos. Sorry. 😦

      Thanks again!

       
  3. zorgor

    July 2, 2012 at 10:29 PM

    Great video! It’s good imo that you make the dots so quickly — I can see room there for spontaneity!

     
    • Jenna

      July 3, 2012 at 11:08 PM

      Thanks Zorgor! Oh yes, the dots are laid down pretty quickly. I usually keep one drawing on my table for about a month (40 – 100 hours of work total), and that’s long enough. I guess you’re right – there is some spontaneity in this technique. 🙂 Thanks again!

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    July 10, 2012 at 10:04 PM

    Youppi !! You made the video ! Thank you Jenna ! I loved it and you choose just the right music to go with it. I’m surprised, I didn’t think you would go that fast in real time with the dots ! It was so fun to see you in action !

     
    • Jenna

      July 11, 2012 at 6:50 PM

      I’m so happy you like the video, Jocelyne. It was fun to make. I’d like to make a longer one sometime…one that shows actual progress on the drawing. I’m glad you like the music. I rather enjoy ragtime music. 🙂 Thanks again! Glad you enjoyed it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
