RSS

Wire Wolf

12 Jul

Here is my newest wire sculpture.  It was a birthday gift for my aunt, who loves wolves and is a great supporter of my creativity.

This sculpture was rather tricky for me.  The snout kept fighting me as I made it…it didn’t want to set right.  Finally though, I got it somewhat right.  It was also tricky to get the likeness of a wolf for a while.  In the end though, this woman won over the wire. 😉

This piece is 9 and 1\2 inches long by 6 inches tall by 3 inches wide.

Happy belated birthday, Jurine. 🙂

 

Thanks for looking.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

8 responses to “Wire Wolf

  1. janukke

    July 12, 2012 at 4:45 PM

    I love this. You got it just right. 🙂

    x Jana

     
    • Jenna

      July 13, 2012 at 3:29 PM

      Thanks so much, Jana! 🙂

       
  2. Judy

    July 13, 2012 at 5:18 PM

    Yay! You won over the wire and the wolf! 😉 It’s a beautiful piece, Jenna, and large, too.
    I have done very little wire work…and I know wire has a mind of its own. I never worked with a as thick a gauge as this wire, either. This gauge must really put up a fight!
    Good for you….it’s a beautiful wolf and a lovely gift for your Aunt!

     
    • Jenna

      July 13, 2012 at 6:04 PM

      Thank you, Judy. Wire is kind of squirrely to work with, and I’ve poked and scatched myself so many times working with it, but it is well worth it in the end. 🙂 I was used to 18 gauge, but now buy wire in half-mile length spools for a better price, and the smallest available gauge is 17, and it is pretty strong and kind of has a mind of its own. It does save some money to buy in bulk though, so I put up with that. 🙂

      Thanks again. I think my aunt is happy with it. 🙂

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    July 21, 2012 at 11:21 PM

    I love it, it’s a great sculpture and a wonderful gift for you aunt !

     
    • Jenna

      July 23, 2012 at 11:56 AM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m glad you like it. 🙂

       
  4. zorgor

    July 25, 2012 at 10:38 PM

    This is awesome. Definitely keep sculpting with wire. You really have something here I think.

     
    • Jenna

      July 26, 2012 at 4:31 PM

      Wow, thank you so much, Zorgor! I appreciate it very much. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
