RSS

State Fair – The Results

17 Jul

The fair is all over and done with.  Yesterday was the date that the entries had to be picked up and the prize money doled out to the dozens of people who placed in the competition.  I am happy to say that my artwork did fairly well this year.  Of the eight that I chose to enter, five took first place, one took second, and one took third.  It was the portrait of Russ that took a white third place ribbon home.  Oh well, nothing like classic white for this black and white portrait. 🙂  The only artwork that did not place was my scenic painting, Alma 1870.

There were many fantastic art pieces at the fair, and it is always a joy to look at all the works done by my fellow local artists.  They all did a great job!

Here is my group of artworks, home safe again.  Yes, I do get rather attached to my artwork.  After all, with most of them, I’ve spent anywhere from eight to eighty hours with them as I drew, painted or sculpted them.

The photography was a stiff competition and the number of photos to look at could keep a person gazing through the glass for hours.  There were hundreds I’m sure, and many were truly exceptional photos.  I was happy to take home three ribbons of my twelve photo entries.  I took fourth place for two of them, and was pleasantly surprised to see one take first place.  It was a photo of my dad that I took out west last year.  We had stopped at a place called the 1880 Town and rented Old West costumes.  What an amazing experience that was, especially for someone like me, who loves to write fiction based in that era.

Where was I? 🙂  Ah yes, Dad’s portrait.  I think he’s pretty pleased about that blue ribbon too.

To see each entry more closely, click here.

Thank you for looking.  Have a wonderful week.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2012 in Odds and Ends (Uncategorized)

 

8 responses to “State Fair – The Results

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    July 17, 2012 at 7:10 PM

    Congratulations on your many ribbons/wins. That is splendid. Have a lovely day. God Bless = )

     
    • Jenna

      July 17, 2012 at 9:28 PM

      Thank you so much, BreOfficialBlog! I really appreciate it. 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    July 17, 2012 at 8:27 PM

    Congratulations Jenna ! Five 1st place, this is a great achievement ! Oooh….Oliver took 1st place, did you tell him ? He must be so proud ! 🙂 I’m glad to see that the boxer and the Christmas card Mary also took first place, they are such wonderful drawings. I didn’t see all the photos of the other participants but your doorknob certainly deserved a 1st place ! The photo of your Dad is so good, it would look great also in sepia !
    Now I have to go see your Dachshund part 4 !

     
    • Jenna

      July 17, 2012 at 9:33 PM

      Thank you, Jocelyne! I’m sure Oliver is feeling quite proud of himself. He knows how gorgeous he is. 😉 You’re very kind. Thank you for the compliments on my drawings. The other photos there were stunners and I feel fortunate to have placed at all. Thanks so much again. It means a great deal, especially coming from an excellent photographer like you.

      Hope you like the Dachshund update. 🙂

       
  3. janukke

    July 18, 2012 at 9:02 AM

    Congrats! This is wonderful. You can be so proud of yourself. Those are amazing pieces of art and I am very glad that it got acknowledged by the jury. All of those pieces are stunning and very unique, I couldn´t pick a favourite if my life depended on it. You are very gifted with all these different media, I like your pointillistic drawing style and your paintings. And it is a mystery to me how you make those wires look like animals. It´s really cool.

     
    • Jenna

      July 19, 2012 at 2:22 PM

      Thank you so much Jana! I appreciate the kind words. I always love entering at the State Fair (I have been doing so for several years). It’s always interesting to see how it goes and to see everyone else’s work as well. Thank you so much, my friend. It is appreciated. 🙂

       
  4. zorgor

    July 25, 2012 at 10:44 PM

    Congratulations!! I hear you about being happy to have them all back home — I spend a lot less time on my work than you do, but nearly all of them are still “my babies”.

    Photography is always going to be stiff competition — at the fair or right here in WordPress. So many people do it, is all… I think my blog would be completely lost in obscurity if all I did was photography. Painters are fewer and further between… it helps a blog! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      July 26, 2012 at 5:12 PM

      Thank you! Isn’t it funny how becomes so near and dear while you create it? 🙂

      I agree. Photography will always have a stiffer competition since so many people do it. You’re right – painting (or any sort of art) can be helpful in a blog. Thanks again.

       

Leave a Reply

 
