RSS

Dachshund Done

05 Aug

After some more darks throughout, the addition of whiskers, and some final adjustments, I am calling this drawing finished.  This piece took almost two months on the dot (no pun intended, ha) to finish, which is faster than most of my work.  I love clearing off my art desk so it is ready and clean and orderly…just awaiting my next project.  I enjoyed drawing this little fellow, and I hope you enjoyed watching the process.

Dachshund

-8×10 inches on Strathmore 400 series Bristol Smooth paper.

-Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens (Fine and Superfine sizes), Staedtler Pigment Liner (0.01 mm size), and Prismacolor Premier Illustration Marker (0.005 mm size).

A few closeups to show detail.

If interested in prints of this drawing, you can reach me at indee.artist.jen88@hotmail.com.

Thanks for following along with me, and thanks for looking. 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2012 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

10 responses to “Dachshund Done

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    August 5, 2012 at 8:45 PM

    Wow, the detail that you put into this drawing. All the dots and with the eyes. Fantastic Drawing : ). I don’t think I could have that much patience ! Have a beautiful and safe week. God Bless.

     
    • Jenna

      August 6, 2012 at 2:36 PM

      Thank you so much, BreOfficialBlog! I appreciate the kind comments very much. 🙂

       
  2. zorgor

    August 5, 2012 at 10:35 PM

    Congratulations! Looks incredible! Quite a noble canine. Appears to be pondering something much deeper than food. 🙂

    I thought I was patient, but I admire your patience.

     
    • Jenna

      August 6, 2012 at 2:43 PM

      Thanks, Zorgor! So happy you like him. Yes, I believe he is pondering something rather deep… 🙂 I appreciate the kind comments.

       
  3. Lenore Busch

    August 5, 2012 at 11:35 PM

    Great work Jenna, keep it up.

     
    • Jenna

      August 6, 2012 at 2:43 PM

      Thank you so much, Lenore! I appreciate it. 🙂

       
  4. janukke

    August 7, 2012 at 6:37 AM

    Jen, this is wonderful! The detail is simply stunning. You got the textures of the hair and brows, as well as the eyes and whiskers just right. I cannot look away. This dog is great!

     
    • Jenna

      August 8, 2012 at 11:07 AM

      Thank you so much, Jana! It means a lot to hear that my work is appreciated. Thank you for the kind words. 🙂

       
  5. Inspired and pretty

    August 9, 2012 at 10:28 PM

    Oh Wow Jenna, he is wonderful ! You are amazing ! I wish I knew someone who have a Dachschund, I would buy a print and give it to them. Any Shetland sheepdog in your future project ? Hi ! Hi ! 🙂 If you’d do a Shetland I would run to your house to buy a print !

     
    • Jenna

      August 10, 2012 at 11:42 AM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like this. I appreciate the kind words very much. As far as the Shetland Sheepdog…check your email. 🙂 Thanks again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
