RSS

A Guy in a Chair

08 Aug

I had some spare time over the weekend and had just finished up my dachshund
drawing, so I felt I wanted to loosen up a little and what better way than with
some large paper and markers?

This piece is 10×14 inches and is drawn on
a heavily textured watercolor paper. I used Faber-Castell brush pens (more marker than pen) in various
shades of gray and black. I found it surprisingly easy to blend the shades to
soften the markers’ edges. When I put down some darks, I would go over them with
a pale gray and it blended the shades very well.

It took me about four hours to draw this. I had a lot of fun with the drawing as I did not use pencil to
sketch it – just grabbed my markers and built the scene as I went. I was working
with an old photo of a young fellow in an ornate chair.

Feels so good to loosen up sometimes!

To see this larger, click the image.

Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink, Sketches

 

8 responses to “A Guy in a Chair

  1. janukke

    August 9, 2012 at 3:29 AM

    Oh, fun! And excellent too! I would´ve never guessed this was a quick sketch if you hadn´t said so.

     
    • Jenna

      August 10, 2012 at 11:43 AM

      Thanks, Jana. Fun is exactly what this was. I had a great time throwing caution to the wind and just letting the marker flow.

       
  2. zorgor

    August 9, 2012 at 11:11 AM

    Looks great! I would have guessed it was a pencil sketch!

     
    • Jenna

      August 10, 2012 at 11:43 AM

      Thanks so much, Zorgor. It does have a sort of graphite look to it. Thanks for the comments. 🙂

       
  3. Lenore Busch

    August 9, 2012 at 11:40 PM

    I like this one Jen. Is this one of the characters from your book?

     
    • Jenna

      August 10, 2012 at 11:45 AM

      Thank you, Lenore. 🙂 Well, he just might be. I had saved the old photo I used as a reference with it in mind to use as a likeness for a character for Russ’ book. So yes, this might be a particular character named Ben, but nothing is set in stone. Thanks for the comment.

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    August 19, 2012 at 6:51 PM

    It’s super beautiful ! There’s so much details in that drawing, the chair is awesome ! A wonderful drawing Jenna, I love it !

     
    • Jenna

      August 19, 2012 at 8:41 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like this drawing. I thoroughly enjoyed this one and it felt so great to relax and let the markers do their thing. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
