RSS

Big Ol’ Bull

10 Aug

Over at WetCanvas.com, in the Southwest/Western forum, there is a Monthly Challenge where some reference photos are provided and people are encouraged to draw or paint them.  It’s a great program and is always fun to participate in.  This month, the photos are stunning and I chose one of an impressive bull to draw.  I guess I was still in the loosening up frame of mind and I did this with markers again.

This time, I used not only Faber-Castell Brush Pens, but also Bic Mark It markers.  They’re big, bold and make a splash.  This is 9×12 inches in size.  I chose Strathmore ArtAgain paper in a yellowed tint for a more rustic feel.  This took about an hour or so to complete.

Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2012 in All Artwork, Sketches

 

9 responses to “Big Ol’ Bull

  1. zorgor

    August 10, 2012 at 6:43 PM

    Excellent!

     
  2. zorgor

    August 10, 2012 at 6:44 PM

    Makes me think of Minoan bull leaping… but probably just because I’ve been reading about that…

     
    • Jenna

      August 10, 2012 at 10:14 PM

      Thanks so much, Zorgor! I can see why you might think that. It’s the hump over the bull’s shoulders maybe? 🙂 Thanks for the very kind comments!

       
  3. janukke

    August 11, 2012 at 11:08 AM

    Just awesome! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      August 13, 2012 at 11:34 AM

      Thanks Jana! So glad you like this. 🙂

       
      • janukke

        August 13, 2012 at 11:42 AM

        Yep, I like the intensity of his stare and his monumental presense. It´s great.

         
  4. Jenna

    August 13, 2012 at 6:50 PM

    I’m glad the intensity comes through – the very presence of a large, moody bull is bound to make a person nervous. They are amazing, dangerous animals. Thanks again!

     
  5. Inspired and pretty

    August 19, 2012 at 7:31 PM

    I’m scared just to look at your drawing and I wouldn’t want to come face to face with such an animal ! You did very well to render the intensity and strength of a bull. Well done Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      August 19, 2012 at 8:44 PM

      I’m with you, Jocelyne! A bull is nothing to mess with. Luckily, I was working from a photo rather than from life! 😉 Thank you for the kind comments. I appreciate it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
