RSS

Jewelry Junk Tree

10 Sep

I’ve had the same earring holder since I was about nine years old.  It is a lime green frog with big blue eyes.  While I loved it as a child, I have been wanting something a little more…me…for a long time now.  But for some reason, elegant, pretty grown-up earring holders are rather hard to find.  It’s always like a hot pink statue of the Eifel Tower or a red lady bug or something like that.  Cute, sure, but really not what I have always pictured.

I finally grew tired to hoping to find something great, so I took matters into my own hands.  My handy wire and junk at hand, I started building one.  I went outside and cut a branch to use for a foundation, and started wrapping wire around it.  Originally, I had planned to make the piece entirely of wire, but was having a hard time making it stand on its own, so I looked through my boxes of junk and found items and found the perfect base.  After a little tweaking on the tree’s stump, it wedged right down into the stand perfectly.  I did not have to glue or otherwise fasten it, it fits so nice and snug.

As I was working on this sculpture, I realized I would have to come up with something to hold my big hoop earrings and other larger earrings.  I went to rummaging in my supply again and found just the thing.  An old chain belt I bought a few years ago but never wore.  I took a length of it and looped it on my tree’s branches.  It works great.

The chain holding my hoop earrings is not permanently fixed in place, so it can span two branches, or it can hang freely from just one.

And finally, I still needed some sort of screen to hold my stud earrings.  That’s what I needed to do all along.  Still unsure, I kept on hunting until I found an old piece from plumbing pipe (I’m afraid I don’t know what the piece is called) and took some old metal window screen and pushed it inside.  It worked like a charm.  I glued it in place with my handy-dandy gel and there it was – my new stud earring holder.  I only have a couple of pairs of stud earrings that I actually wear, so I kept this holder pretty small and trim.

Even though I hit a slump when this tree was still unfinished, I finally managed to complete it and it fits nicely on my dresser with my other vintage and favorite items.

This tree is roughly twenty inches tall.  I used a branch, fencing wire, some rusty something-or-another for the stand, an old belt, plumbing pieces, and old window screen for this piece.  It’s always fun to look around and use what’s right at hand.

My wonderful antique bowler hat also got a bit of a makeover as you can see. 🙂

I hope you like this.  Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

15 responses to “Jewelry Junk Tree

  1. janukke

    September 10, 2012 at 3:03 PM

    Oh, that´s cool! 🙂 You almost inspired me to make one myself. But then, I don´t have the space to place it nicely. Anyhow, your wired jewelry junk tree looks beautiful! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 10, 2012 at 3:06 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! 🙂 Why not make one to suit your space? It could be half this size if you’d like it to be. Could be fun to make it your own with the size and style you like. I appreciate the kind words very much! Thanks again!

       
  2. BreOfficialBlog

    September 10, 2012 at 6:07 PM

    Wow, this is so creative and seems like it would be fun to do. Truly a one of a kind earring holder. It makes me want to make…something : )

     
    • Jenna

      September 11, 2012 at 12:25 PM

      Thanks so much, Bre! It was a fun project and not too difficult at all to do. I hope you run with that feeling and make something. I find such happiness in creativity. Thanks again for the kind comments. 🙂

       
  3. zorgor

    September 13, 2012 at 8:39 PM

    Goggles on a bowler?? You’re a steampunk! 🙂

    Very cool that you found such a practical application for your wire sculpture tho! Feels good to solve a problem like that, huh? 🙂 Like caulk on a canvas…

     
    • Jenna

      September 14, 2012 at 9:50 PM

      Haha! Only a very very mild Steampunk, I assure you. 🙂

      Thanks. It was a lot of fun making this, and it works great. It sure does feel good to come up with a solution like that. I would never have thought of caulk on canvas, but why not? That’s what we artists do, right? We think outside the box. And what fun it is. Thanks again for the comments. Always appreciated.

       
      • zorgor

        September 14, 2012 at 11:23 PM

        Heh. Well, life intervenes. I have a leak in the bay window of my office/man cave, and a spot forming right over my monitor. It has not actually dripped yet, but the ‘spot’ is now the size of a small serving tray. It rains, the spot grows, it dries out, and luckily has yet to have actually dripped. I have not successfully stopped it yet, but I’ve been re-caulking, thinking about sealing against water, and I at some point I just put 2 and 2 together and found a way to keep washes on the canvas. So it wasn’t really all that ‘creative’, especially when over-analyzed to death. 🙂

         
      • zorgor

        September 14, 2012 at 11:25 PM

        But yeah, it feels reeeel good to finally solve things like these that have been frustrating for a while.

         
  4. Jenna

    September 16, 2012 at 11:57 AM

    Even so, I would never have thought to try caulk on a canvas. I hope that leak doesn’t drip. You might have to put an umbrella over your computer! 🙂

     
    • zorgor

      September 16, 2012 at 10:46 PM

      Ha! Yeah, actually I was thinking of some contrivance of wax paper… I didn’t get to caulking this weekend… S’posed to rain Tuesday…

      Well, I don’t think I’d ever have thought of sculpting with wire like you do! 🙂

       
      • Jenna

        September 17, 2012 at 3:26 PM

        Time to put that umbrella over your computer, Zorgor, before Tuesday comes! 😉 Thanks. 🙂

         
  5. nyparrot

    September 20, 2012 at 10:48 PM

    Wow! I like these creative ideas – I never have seen a Jewelry Tree before;).

     
    • Jenna

      September 21, 2012 at 11:20 AM

      Thank you so much, nyparrot. I’m glad you like this. I got the idea for a jewelry tree after seeing a display in an art store which was a big, strong tree with many branches for hanging anything you’d like. The one in the art store was much neater than mine, but I try. 🙂 Thanks so much for the comment!

       
      • nyparrot

        September 21, 2012 at 11:36 AM

        I love your tree, really. I might want to find a branch for my jewels. Thanks so much for sharing this fantastic idea! Have an awesome weekend, Jenna! Glasha

         
  6. Jenna

    September 22, 2012 at 10:54 AM

    Go for it Glasha! I’d love to see what you come up with for your jewelry tree. Thank you; have a great weekend yourself! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
