RSS

Wrenches

16 Sep

I’m still trying to improve in oil painting, and that has meant practicing still life with anything I happen to have on hand.  In this case, I used a couple of old wrenches that I keep in my junk sculpture supply box.  I actually did this painting some time ago, back before my Civil War Soldier.

This painting was fun…I enjoyed trying to get the feel of the metal and the rust.  Each oil painting is a learning lesson, and I enjoyed this piece a lot.

Wrenches

-Painted with oil paints.  Indian Yellow, Alizarin Crimson, Ultramarine Blue and White.

-Painted on a 6×8 inch canvas board

Here is a photo of the wrenches I used for my still life.

And the actual painting.

Close ups.  Sorry for the glare, the paint was wet when I took the photos below.

Thanks for looking! 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2012 in All Artwork, Paintings

 

6 responses to “Wrenches

  1. janukke

    September 17, 2012 at 1:40 AM

    Hey, what an impressive use of oil colours! I like it lots! Ah, it´s fun to see your work here. Thanks so much for making my day! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 17, 2012 at 3:27 PM

      Thank you, Jana. 🙂 I’m so happy you like my work. I appreciate the kind comments.

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    October 13, 2012 at 10:46 PM

    That’s a good painting ! You reproduced the rust and the glare of the metal so well. Keep practicing and showing us your work !

     
    • Inspired and pretty

      October 13, 2012 at 10:50 PM

      I’m always so late to look at your posts 😦 Time is running so fast and there’s always a hundred things waiting to be done.
      I hope you have a lovely Sunday !

       
      • Jenna

        October 14, 2012 at 11:24 AM

        No worries! I know how time flies and how busy things are. I understand. I truly appreciate your coming to comment anytime, even if the post isn’t fresh and new. Thank you. I hope your Sunday is lovely as well! 🙂

         
    • Jenna

      October 14, 2012 at 11:23 AM

      Thank you, Jocelyne! So happy you like it. It was fun trying to get those textures and colors right. Reflective surfaces are so interesting to work with. I’ll try and keep on practicing and posting. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
