RSS

Scratchboard Portrait WIP

18 Sep

It has been a long time since I’ve been happily head-over-heels into a drawing.  While I have chosen a beautiful reference image for another ink drawing (hint hint, it’s a big cat), I was drawn to an image that I have been wanting to try in scratchboard.  Well, the scratchboard won out for now, so here is my latest project.

This is an 8×10 inch scratchboard.  I am using an X-Acto knife and another scratchboard tool for this.  It’s got a ways to go before I can call it finished, but I thought you might like to follow along with me.

The first stage.

The second.  As you can see, I did not feel right at all about the eye, so I inked it over again.  It’s still not right, so I continue to built up the face and hope the eye makes more sense later.

Just slowly moving across the board, filling in the cheek, the hair, the chin, and so on.

I’ve worked on this some more since the above images, so stay tuned for updates.  Thank you very much for looking.  Comments are always welcome and appreciated. 🙂

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Scratchboard Portrait WIP

  1. janukke

    September 19, 2012 at 7:22 AM

    That´s wonderful! I like your WIPs very much. It´s really cool to see the different stadiums of your work. There´s a huge difference between the first and the last. He seems somewhat less angry in the last one, “stout” might be the right word to describe his expression in the last picture.
    That guy has an impressive profile. I can see what attracted you to making this scratchboard. 🙂
    Oh, and you are planning even more! That´s great to hear.

     
    • Jenna

      September 19, 2012 at 3:44 PM

      Thanks very much, Jana. I am so happy you enjoy my WIPs, because I really enjoy sharing them. 🙂 Human portraits are so very finicky because it takes so little to make the person look a lot different. Sometimes, a single stroke can drastically change the entire appearence of a person. It’s fascinating and daunting all at once. Stout would be a wonderful way to describe the image I’m working from, so I’m glad it comes through in my scratchboard too. This is actually a celebrity I am drawing – I just loved the image so decided to try and make this scratchboard from it.

      I thought he had a strong profile, too. Nice and dramatic. Oh yes, there will be more to come, both as updates on this piece, and soon, I hope, a new ink drawing. Thanks for the wonderful comments. I appreciate the support so much!

       
  2. BreOfficialBlog

    September 19, 2012 at 3:29 PM

    Wow, I think this is looking fantastic ! I can’t wait to see the final result : )

     
    • Jenna

      September 19, 2012 at 3:47 PM

      Thank you, Bre! So happy you like this so far. I’ll try and post an update soon. 🙂

       
  3. zorgor

    September 19, 2012 at 7:45 PM

    Wow, you must have really liked scratching out that dachshund!
    Looks good!

     
    • Jenna

      September 19, 2012 at 10:06 PM

      Thanks so much, Zorgor. Well, the dachschund was done in pen and ink actually, so it’s a bit different. I did a scratchboard of my cat Oliver though, and yes, I loved doing that. 🙂 Thanks for the comments. Always appreciated.

       
      • zorgor

        September 19, 2012 at 10:37 PM

        Oh, yes. I got them confused. %-)

         
      • zorgor

        September 19, 2012 at 10:39 PM

        My daughter saw this post as I was first reading it, she asked ‘wha…?’ and after I explained she asked me to buy her a scratchboard… I dunno though, with all the sharp weaponry needed, maybe when she’s older…

         
  4. Jenna

    September 20, 2012 at 11:06 AM

    Wow, I am happy that this post encouraged your daughter to try scratchboard. It is really a lot of fun to do these. Yes, the tools required can be quite sharp. I like an X-Acto knife, and other scratchboard artists like even sharper things like scalpels, tattoo needles, etc. However, if your daughter is really eager to try, I’ve heard you can use safer tools. Some even get good results with items like paper clips.

    Thanks again for the kind comments. I hope to see a scratchboard by your daughter on your blog someday. 🙂

     
  5. Inspired and pretty

    September 21, 2012 at 11:05 PM

    I’m always blown away by your art and talent Jenna and this one is no exception. I like to look at all the tiny lines of his hair, they look so real ! I know it’s not the same technique as with dots but is this technique more difficult ? It’s so cool to see the different stages, I love that !

     
    • Jenna

      September 22, 2012 at 11:12 AM

      I am so happy you like this so far, Jocelyne. The wonderful thing about scratchboard is that you get these fine lines and details pretty easily with a sharp blade. This technique is actually more forgiving than ink because if a mistake is made, I can apply ink over the mistake and rework it. That part is wonderful! The thing about scratchboard is that it’s sort of like drawing in reverse. Instead of pushing the darks and leaving the white spaces, I have to push the lights and leave the dark places. It can take some adjusting. This method of drawing is so much fun to do though, and I really enjoy it. I’m glad you enjoy the WIP stages. Thanks again. You’re always so kind and supportive. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
