RSS

Scratchboard Portrait WIP (2)

21 Sep

I spent a couple of hours this afternoon in my studio, winding wire to make a new sculpture.  It is pretty hard on the hands, and my fingers are quite sore from working with the stubborn stuff, so I decided to take a break and make a blog post.  More on that wire sculpture later.

Yesterday I worked on my scratchboard quite a bit.  At first I was feeling fairly happy with it, but the longer I worked, the more I struggled.  The likeness seems to be slipping a bit for some reason that I have yet to figure out.  I hope to get things back in order soon.  The eye is giving me fits…I hope it can turn out alright in the end.  Otherwise, it’s coming along; I’ve been giving the skin more definition and, of course, added the ear.  I have been filling in the hair and have crept down to the neck.  All in all, it’s going along all right.

Thank you for looking.  Have a great day! 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Scratchboard Portrait WIP (2)

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    September 21, 2012 at 10:37 PM

    I think the eyes are ..piercing which is awesome. But I hope you see what you are looking for soon! I really am liking this…I’ll probably like any direction you continue in with this : )

     
    • Jenna

      September 22, 2012 at 11:15 AM

      Thank you so much, Bre! There is an intensity in the eye of the man in the reference image that I have been struggling to get right, but it’s getting closer I think (and hope). Thanks very much for the kind comments. 🙂

       
  2. diane konkel

    September 22, 2012 at 8:20 AM

    Awesome nice work you should do portraits

     
    • Jenna

      September 22, 2012 at 11:16 AM

      Hi Diane. How great to hear from you! 🙂 Thanks for the nice comments. I have done a few portraits in the past. It had been quite a while since I tackled a human portrait though, so this has been a nice change of pace. Thanks again.

       
  3. janukke

    September 22, 2012 at 10:30 AM

    I think this is just awesome, too! To me it´s already perfect. It´s thrilling to watch your WIPs. I am really excited to find out what the finished version will look like.

     
    • Jenna

      September 22, 2012 at 11:19 AM

      Thank you, Jana! So happy you like it so much. It means a lot to hear you enjoy my WIPs. I hope to finish this fairly soon. I have been enjoying this piece so much that it’s hard to put it aside. Hope to post another update soon. Thanks again! 🙂

       
  4. zorgor

    September 22, 2012 at 10:14 PM

    He looks like a skater. Great work!

    Looking forward to the wire sculpture!

     
    • Jenna

      September 22, 2012 at 10:50 PM

      He kind of does, doesn’t he? The reference image I’m working from is actually an actor who is in a 1920s era tv show. The hairstyle was relatively common at the time, called an undercut. Thanks for the comments! I finished the sculpture this evening, so I’ll be posting that soon. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
