RSS

Texas Longhorn Sculpture

25 Sep

Well, I’ve been winding wire again.  This time, I thought it would be fun to do a Texas Longhorn.  With the big, wide horns and the blocky body, it sounded like a good choice for wire.

There I was up in my studio, listening to some music that a friend recently gave me, winding wire while my cat, Oliver, kept trying to get my attention.  He always needs attention the most when I’m doing something that doesn’t include him.  What I love about working in my studio is that Oliver insists on hanging out with me while I work.  Most of the time while I am painting, Oliver lays on the back rest of my chair as I work.  It is so cozy.  Aren’t pets great?

Texas Longhorn

-Made with 17 gauge fencing wire as well as finer craft wire for some details such as the tail, ears, horns, and nose.

-I used a pair of needle nose pliers and other types of craft pliers for this piece, as well as a wire cutter and my bare hands (I got a blister to prove it 😉 ).

-Measures approximately 9 inches long by 5 & 1/2 inches tall by 6 inches wide (including the spread of the horns).

Thank you for looking.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Texas Longhorn Sculpture

  1. janukke

    September 26, 2012 at 5:48 AM

    This is very impressive! Your sculptures are amazingly “realistic”. The Texas Longhorn looks as if he is about to slowly walk off. 😉

     
    • Jenna

      September 26, 2012 at 11:22 AM

      Thanks very much, Jana! I’m so happy you think these are realistic. I always hope to capture the character of the animal when I do these. I appreciate the comments so much! 🙂

       
  2. Jodi

    September 27, 2012 at 8:15 AM

    Cattle are such fun to watch! You’ve done a fantastic job with his horns, my favorite aspect of the breed 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 27, 2012 at 11:30 AM

      Hi Jodi. Thank you so much! They are fun to watch; I’ve always thought cattle tend to make walking look like hard work! I appreciate the comments. 🙂

       
  3. zorgor

    September 28, 2012 at 9:36 PM

    Very cool! Looks great!

     
    • Jenna

      September 29, 2012 at 5:16 PM

      Thanks so much! Glad you like it. 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    October 13, 2012 at 10:59 PM

    That’s a lot of twisting and winding ! You know what my favourite part is ? The tail ! The end of the tail ! It’s perfect ! I love the horns too ! Very well done Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      October 14, 2012 at 11:27 AM

      Yes it sure is. The best way to do these sculptures is with the company of music. It feels almost like a dance to wind wire, and the music makes it more fun. Thank you! I’m so glad you like the tail! It was fun to make. I actually wired it loosely, so it can move around a little like a real tail. 🙂 Thank you so much, Jocelyne. Your comments always cheer me up and make my day.

       

Leave a Reply

 
