RSS

Scratchboard Portrait WIP (3)

27 Sep

I’m still working on this guy.  The changes are probably going to look pretty subtle, but they all add up to making this piece a little closer to finished.  I’ve been brightening up the skin tones more, and at the same time have been trying to fix the expression to look more solemn.  I needed to reshape the ear a bit, and have also been making small tweaks to the eye, nose and mouth to get a closer likeness.  I’ve been filling in the hair, and most recently have started to scratch out the coat.  In the reference image, the coat appears to be wool or some such material, and has a rough texture.  I decided to use a more blunt tool to achieve that texture.  It seems to be working nicely.

It’s still not done, but it’s getting closer.  🙂

Thank you for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

4 responses to “Scratchboard Portrait WIP (3)

  1. Inspired and pretty

    September 30, 2012 at 9:21 PM

    It’s beautiful ! He is so much younger than what I thought he would be when I saw the first sketch. It’s an amazing drawing and your talent is amazing ! I really wish you’ll be famous one day and people will discover and see your art in museums !

     
    • Inspired and pretty

      September 30, 2012 at 9:22 PM

      If I could click “Like” ten times, I would ! 🙂

       
      • Jenna

        September 30, 2012 at 10:16 PM

        You’re very kind! Thanks again! So happy you like this portrait so much. 🙂

         
    • Jenna

      September 30, 2012 at 10:16 PM

      Thanks so much, Jocelyne! Interesting what you say about him being much younger than you first thought. As I look back on the old progress shots, I realized that the overall look of the man has changed a lot along the way. I put, I believe, the finishing touches on this drawing this evening, so I’ll be posting the finish soon once I can be sure it’s truly finished. I always need to let the artwork “rest” a day or two before calling it done. Sometimes, you’ll find some surprising flaws with a drawing once you come back to it with fresh eyes. 🙂

      You are always so kind and your comments mean so much to me! Thank you very much for the kind wishes. I appreciare your support so much! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
