RSS

One Scratched Man (Scratchboard Portrait)

03 Oct

At last, I have put the final scratches on this portrait and am calling it done.  I have filled out his coat – what a fun texture that was to play with!  I also reworked his hair some and made a few other small changes throughout the piece.  The eye has been troublesome all along, but I am finally content with it after making some changes.  Here is the final piece.

Scratchboard Portrait

-8×10 inch Ampersand Scratchboard

-Tools used: X-Acto Knife, Scratchboard Tool, and Faber-Castell Brush Pen for corrections

A few close-ups.  Sorry for the blue haze – these were taken outside in daylight, and it gave the images a blue tint.

And finally, here is a short video showing the progress stages of the drawing from start to finish, as well as some of the technique I used.  I hope you enjoy it.

Thank you for looking! 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2012 in All Artwork, Scratchboard, Videos

 

12 responses to “One Scratched Man (Scratchboard Portrait)

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    October 3, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    Amazing Piece of Artwork. Amazing detail : ). I don’t think I could have the patience to create the texture needed. You did a fantastic job. 10/10 !

     
    • Jenna

      October 4, 2012 at 7:51 PM

      Thank you so much, Bre! I appreciate the kind comments very much! 🙂

       
  2. janukke

    October 5, 2012 at 6:02 AM

    Simply stunning! That slide show of all the different stages of the piece is fascinating to watch! 🙂

    It´s a wonderful portrait. His expression is very intense and the likeness is perfect! And the detail just blows my mind. I´ll have to come back often, just to have a look at this one again! 😉

     
    • Jenna

      October 5, 2012 at 8:55 PM

      Thank you so much, Jana! I appreciate your kind support and encouragement so much! I’m happy you enjoyed the video. I’m so glad the intensity shines through – that’s what I wanted all along! It’s great to hear it’s there. Thanks again, Jana. You are always so kind. 🙂 I’m so happy you like this portrait.

       
  3. zorgor

    October 9, 2012 at 12:25 PM

    Wow that is awesome! It looks so much more done, it looks finished! It’s funny, I mean I know it’s finished, but when I saw it I instantly thought, ‘yeah, it’s done.’ So it definitely is! 🙂 Looks really good. I really liked the video too.

     
    • Jenna

      October 9, 2012 at 1:15 PM

      Thank you so much, Zorgor! I’m so happy you like this. As for it suddenly looking finished, I have the fixative to thank for that. All of those darker streaks and smudges you’ve seen on the black areas of the board previously are inked over mistakes. Like a miracle, fixative makes those marks vanish and blend into the ink of the board flawlessly. It’s quite an amazing trick; I learned that from the good people in the Scratchboard forum over at WetCanvas. 🙂

      Your kind words always mean so much, and I thank you for visiting my blog and commenting so much. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        October 9, 2012 at 5:39 PM

        🙂 I’m not sure it’s really just the fixative…

        It was weird — it has such a look of completeness, of done-ness, now. I know you know what I mean, but it’s hard to put into words, and strange that it should hit me with such a powerful feeling like that. That is a done scratchin’!

         
  4. Jenna

    October 9, 2012 at 7:18 PM

    You’re very kind. I suppose the fixative didn’t do ALL the finishing. 🙂 I am so happy this looks so complete to you. There is something a tiny big disheartening about finishing a piece and having some say “Is it done?”, so your comments made my day! Thanks again!

     
  5. Inspired and pretty

    October 13, 2012 at 10:35 PM

    This is an extraordinary portrait Jenna, so beautiful ! He looks so real, it’s almost as if he’s going to turn his head and talk ! I love his eye, his hair, his beard, his coat, everything ! His face and hair looks as if they are illuminated, it’s beautiful. It’s amazing to see the different stages, the differences and evolution of the drawing. I love it when I see you in action ! You often mention what tools you use for your drawings but I have no idea what the brush pens, pencil or graphite look like. It would be fun to see all the tools you use for your drawings and paintings 🙂
    There’s one thing I am wondering about your posts. I know you use tags when you make a post, but do you also add tags from the WordPress Tag Topics ? You could use tags like “art” and “projects”, I’m sure you would gain more readers to your blog. When I started adding “Photography” and “Photos” tags, and also “Nature” (when I have landscape photos), suddenly I had many more visits and comments. Maybe you already know that and find me annoying, but I just wanted to make sure you were aware of these tags. In case you’re not aware of them, you can see them here : http://en.wordpress.com/#!/read/topics/ I often check on this tag list to see which one I could add to my posts. I’m telling you that because I think you are a wonderful artist and deserve so many more readers !

     
    • Jenna

      October 14, 2012 at 11:37 AM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like this and that it looks real. I wanted to make this portrait as realistic as possible, so I’m happy that shines through in this drawing. I appreciate your comments so much! Thanks for the tip! I’ll make a point to post images of my tools in the future. I hadn’t even though of that. Thanks!

      Wow, I was totally unaware of using the WordPress Tag Topics! I will certainly give that a go, because I would love to have more readers. Thank you so much for mentioning this to me. It is appreciated! 🙂

       
      • Inspired and pretty

        October 14, 2012 at 12:30 PM

        Great ! This way if you add a tag from this list, your post will appear in that list under the tag you added and people will see it when they click on that tag. Of course all the posts throughout WordPress tagged under this specific tag also appears so there are many pages of posts, but I almost always have new visitors at each of my posts and I’m sure it’s because of these tags.

        Another suggestion, yes again 🙂 : If your theme allows it, you could also add different sharing buttons like Facebook, Twitter, Google+ etc… This way people could easily share your posts. I don’t have a lot of visitors from this but people do share my posts, maybe not all of them but quite often I see they have been shared. If you’re interested in adding share buttons, go to your dashboard and click on Settings -> Sharing (on the left side of the dashboard). From there you’ll be able to choose which sharing buttons you want to add, don’t forget to click “Save changes” after you chose them. It should appear at the end of each of your posts.

         
  6. Jenna

    October 17, 2012 at 10:05 PM

    Thanks so much, Jocelyne! That’s very helpful! I really appreciate you kind advice and encouragement! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
