RSS

Inspired by Frederic Remington

23 Oct

For years, one of my favorite artists has been the great Western artist, Frederic Remington.  The sense of harshness and excitement that he put into his artwork has always been inspiring to me.  The expressions, the action, and the beauty of his work really captures the feel of the Old West.  He drew, etched and painted horses beautifully, as well as Native Americans, cowboys, and soldiers.  His works tell stories, and his night scenes really captured the feel of darkness and moonlight.

In trying to continue practicing my painting, I decided to try and copy one of my favorites of his work, titled “The End of the Day”.  His beautiful original can be seen here.  I love the snow, the bitter cold look of the blizzard, but most of all, I love that yellow glow coming from the house.  I love how there’s the promise of a cozy cabin after the horses have been tended to.  Isn’t it lovely?

So here is what I came up with in my version.  The angles are a little different, and the horses are a little on the small side, but I enjoyed trying to capture the bitter cold and that wonderful glow from the cabin.  This was an interesting challenge.

Since this is a copy of another artist’s work, I will not title it differently.  It is still Remington’s composition, and I painted it strictly as a practice piece.

– 8×10 inch mounted canvas

– Basics brand acrylic paint

– I used various brushes for this, flats, brights, and round brushes.  For the snow, I used a Chinese Paint Brush, frayed and dry, dipped in diluted white paint to get the snowy look.

Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2012 in All Artwork, Paintings

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Inspired by Frederic Remington

  1. jumpingpolarbear

    October 23, 2012 at 2:15 PM

    I’m glad I am inside in front of the fireplace when I see that snowy picture :). Wish I could draw like that!

     
    • Jenna

      October 23, 2012 at 4:25 PM

      Hi Jumpingpolarbear, and thank you so much for the comments! I’m glad this gives off that chilly, winter blizzard feeling. 🙂 I appreciate the kind words very much!

       
  2. zorgor

    October 25, 2012 at 10:44 PM

    Frederic Remington was a master. Plain and simple. His work is awesome and yes, definitely inspiring!

     
    • Jenna

      October 26, 2012 at 10:35 AM

      I agree wholeheartedly, Zorgor. There’s no one quite like Remington when it comes to art. Charlie Russell was also a great Western artist. I love the style of Remington’s work – it’s so harsh, so gritty. The people he painted were haggard and real, and the horses run down and sometimes a little droopy – very true to life I’m sure.

       
      • zorgor

        October 26, 2012 at 4:46 PM

        I feel lucky that we have The Bronco Buster here at the Eiteljorg museum in Indianapolis.

         
      • zorgor

        October 26, 2012 at 4:47 PM

        Aw, the link didn’t post! Bronco Buster

         
  3. Inspired and pretty

    October 26, 2012 at 8:22 PM

    You did a great job with this painting Jenna, especially with the snow. We do feel the heavy snow falling and the wind blowing. The original is superb, it is truly a master’s work. I love to see your drawings and paintings and see how you progress and improve. You have a wonderful gift and I hope you’ll be around here in the future so that I can continue to see your work !

     
    • Jenna

      October 26, 2012 at 9:39 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy the same feeling comes through in my painting. Remington’s work is amazing, and I’ve learned a lot about drawing just by studying his work. Thank you. It means so much to have the support, comments, and support – an artist loves to have an audience. 😉 So thank you very much for always being there to comment. I’m not going anywhere – and I plan on sharing many, many more artworks here. Thanks again! 🙂

       
  4. Jenna

    October 26, 2012 at 9:34 PM

    Zorgor, that’s got to be one of the most famous of Remington’s works. It must really be amazing to see it in real life. What a gift he had!

     
    • zorgor

      October 26, 2012 at 10:03 PM

      I thought it was. Yeah, I haven’t been back to see it in years… 7 years actually wow. But I remember being impressed when I did see it.

       
      • Jenna

        October 27, 2012 at 10:25 AM

        You’d better go back and see it again – nothing like being in the presence of a master artist’s work. 🙂 I’m glad you have it nearby.

         

Leave a Reply

 
