RSS

The Last Flower of the Year

01 Nov

Happy November, dear readers,

It is getting colder, and soon we will have snow again.  Today is a special day for many, for today is the kickoff of the famous and fabulous NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  I took on the challenge two years ago and it was so exciting to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  What a mad rush, what a joy, what a challenge!  If you ever wanted to try your hand at writing, I highly encourage you to try this.  It was a wonderfully healthy challenge with a lot of ups and downs along the way.  I loved every minute of it.  Check out the website, NaNoWriMo.  It is so tempting to take on the challenge again, but I think I’ll choose not to and instead continue to proof read the novel I wrote.  With the help of my mom, who has a real eye for catching mistakes and issues in the written word, we are almost ready to have the book bound and, hopefully, available for sale.  🙂

I would love to share some artwork here, but I am working on the Christmas card drawing, and I need to keep that a secret for now, so I haven’t got much to show at the moment.  I did make a little wire bird that I’ll post soon though.

I have not taken many photos lately.  I am actually in the market for a new camera, so that will be an exciting change.  I’m thinking I’ll go with the Nikon D7000…but if anyone has any tips or advice on cameras, I’d love to hear them!

It’s been cold and windy and fall-ish, so the photography hasn’t been as exciting as sometimes.  However, I did find one last strong, fighting pansy and decided to take a couple of photos of it.  The last flower of the year.  I thought it was especially pretty.

Thank you for looking.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “The Last Flower of the Year

  1. Lenore Busch

    November 1, 2012 at 8:53 PM

    It’s a lovely photo Jenna and yes you had my address right. Let me know when you book is for sale. I have been reading Tony Hillerman novels and I just love them. Just ordered 12 more of his novels off Ebay. Take care.

     
  2. Jenna

    November 2, 2012 at 9:45 PM

    Thank you so much, Lenore. I appreciate your ongoing interest in my work. It means so much! 🙂 I’ll have to look up Tony Hillerman. You sound like a big fan! Thanks again.

     
  3. Inspired and pretty

    November 11, 2012 at 11:50 AM

    This pansy is so beautiful, the colours are amazing and so vibrant. I love the angle of the two last photos. When you’ll have your new camera you will be amazed by the quality of your photos and all you can do with such a camera. Did you buy it yet ? Good luck with your novel, it must be so exciting to be near finish !

     
    • Jenna

      November 11, 2012 at 8:27 PM

      Isn’t it a pretty pansy? It was such a fighter to have survived for so long. Thank you, Jocelyne! I can hardly wait to get my new camera and learn about all of the features. I haven’t bought it yet, but I will later this week. Thank you! It is very exciting – I can hardly sit still it is so exciting! 🙂 Thanks again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
