RSS

Bird Gone HayWIRE

04 Nov

The title says it all.

I recently purchased some aluminum fencing wire to try out, as steel wire tends to be very strong and somewhat hard to shape.  I was going to make this sculpture a horse at first, but shortly after starting, you can see it ended up looking rather…unhorse like.  What was supposed to look vaguely like a horse’s head looked like a ball of wire.  So I tossed it aside in frustration and forgot about it for a few days.

Some time later, I was puttering around the studio and looked at this ball of wasted wire, trying to decide what to do with it – I hated to waste that much wire.  So I started working on it some more.  A few exhausted attempts later, I had made a chicken…or a duck…or a turkey…  If nothing else, one can see this looks like a bird of some sort!  It took some hard work to make this sculpture stand on its own.  I never tried to balance a sculpture on just two points before; it’s always been four.  So I had to stagger the feet so they could hold up the piece.  A healthy challenge to be sure.

The aluminum wire is nice.  Pretty easy to work with, but I rather like the heaviness of the steel sculptures more.  This is a light as a feather (how fitting that it’s a bird).  My other sculptures, such as my horse and my Texas Longhorn weigh roughly a pound.  Of course, they are also considerably larger than this sculpture too.

Tools Used: a pair of needle nose pliers, wire cutter, as well as some other assorted pliers.  The majority of the shaping is done by hand though.  A friend suggested that I should share pictures of the tools I use for a sculpture or a drawing or whatever other art forms I’m working in.  So here is a picture of my sculpting work space with all the tools and wire I am using currently.  I also recently put in a vice, which is proving to be very helpful to holding the sculpture as I work.  So this is what my sculpting work space looks like.  Thanks, Jocelyne for suggesting that I photograph my art tools! 🙂

Bird Gone Haywire

– Made completely with 16 gauge aluminum fencing wire.

– Measures 4 inches long x 3 and 1/2 inches tall by 1 and 1/2 inches wide.  It’s a little one!

It was such fun making these little three-toed feet.

Thank you for looking.  Comments are always welcome and appreciated! 🙂

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Bird Gone HayWIRE

  1. janukke

    November 5, 2012 at 6:10 AM

    Lovely! 🙂
    “Like a bird on a wire…” (Leonard Cohen) — Cannot stop thinking of that song now. 😉
    Great bird!

     
    • Jenna

      November 5, 2012 at 11:33 AM

      Haha, sorry to have gotten a song stuck in your head, Jana. It’s a nice song though, anyway. 🙂 I appreciate the comments. Thanks very much, my friend!

       
      • janukke

        November 5, 2012 at 12:17 PM

        Well, I haven´t been complaining, have I? 😉 Honestly, that bird is wonderful!

         
  2. Jenna

    November 5, 2012 at 8:03 PM

    Certainly not. 🙂 There’s something I like about having a song stuck in my head. Thank you so much, Jana!

     
  3. zorgor

    November 5, 2012 at 10:34 PM

    That is the most life-like three-toed Galapagos Kiwi I’ve ever seen!

    Interesting idea about a photo of the tools used… I might do that myself. Palette knife, graduated test tubes, caulk gun… 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      November 6, 2012 at 11:01 AM

      That’s what this bird looks like! You nailed it, Zorgor. 😀 Thanks for the comments. I would love to see your work space and tools! It’s always fun to see how artist’s set up their work spaces. 🙂

       
      • zorgor

        November 6, 2012 at 9:50 PM

        Well, the defining feature of my work space is that it’s shared, cramped, and too small. Shared with all the other stuff we have stored in the basement, and shared with my wife’s projects… Now that I think about it, there is space… maybe I just need another work table or something.

         
  4. Jenna

    November 7, 2012 at 5:47 PM

    I have always thought that artists need clutter and a sense of…haphazardness to really feel like they’re creative and productive. 😉 At least that’s how I feel. 🙂

     
    • zorgor

      November 7, 2012 at 7:12 PM

      I’ve heard that, but I wouldn’t know. My space is so small it has to be very neatly organized or I have no room to work at all. 🙂

       
      • Jenna

        November 7, 2012 at 7:32 PM

        In that case, neatness is definitely your friend! You turn out such nice work; you must really make the most of the space you have. 🙂

         
      • zorgor

        November 7, 2012 at 8:40 PM

        Thank you so much! 🙂

         
  5. Jenna

    November 8, 2012 at 11:20 AM

    🙂

     
  6. Inspired and pretty

    November 11, 2012 at 11:33 AM

    It’s a turkey ! I really see a turkey ! And I love those toes, they are perfect ! You did a great job Jenna, it’s a perfect sculpture for Thanksgiving. It’s great to see the tools you used, I like that a lot. .It’ll be fun to see your pens and ink and brushes, etc…
    Oh and thank you for the link, you’re so sweet ! :), .

     
    • Jenna

      November 11, 2012 at 8:19 PM

      I’m happy you see a turkey here, Jocelyne. 🙂 Thank you. It was fun making those little toes for this bird. Thank you for the idea of sharing my tools with everyone. It was a great idea, and I appreciate it. You’re welcome.

       
  7. Jodi

    November 17, 2012 at 9:26 AM

    I see a chicken. I really like the wire sculptures you create, Jen!

     
    • Jenna

      November 17, 2012 at 10:59 AM

      Hi Jodi. Thanks for the nice comments! I appreciate it. I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately. Hope things are going well for you. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
