RSS

The Aluminum Horse

07 Nov

Here’s another sculpture that I finished the other day.  The aluminum wire is proving to be nice to work with even though I like the weight of steel wire.

I always seem to go back to horses when it comes to art.  They’re just such beautiful creatures.  I love trying to capture personality and character in sculptures.  It is, after all, quite different than the detailed ink drawings I typically do.  It is the “different” factor that makes these sculptures so fun to make.  They’re refreshing, interesting, and challenging.

The piece measures 9 inches long by 8 inches tall by 2 1/2 inches wide.  The body is made entirely of 16 gauge aluminum fencing wire.  The tail is made with short lengths of metal chain I took from a chain belt.  The mane is also made with pieces of the belt.  The ears are fake pearls I took from my stash of old costume jewelry that I keep just for projects like this.  I wedged the pearls down between the rolls of wire and glued them in place with high gloss acrylic gel medium (not actually a glue, but it holds better than any glue I’ve used.)

I made this sculpture in one day, but in two sittings.  It took roughly four or five hours to make.

The Aluminum Horse

I hope you like it.  Thanks so much for looking! 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “The Aluminum Horse

  1. zorgor

    November 7, 2012 at 9:10 PM

    Very cool! The chains for the tail worked out really well. Looks like a pony. Such a realistic pose!

     
    • Jenna

      November 8, 2012 at 11:22 AM

      Thanks so much, Zorgor! I’m happy you like this. The chains seemed an obvious choice for the tail. I appreciate the comments!

       
  2. Andrea

    November 8, 2012 at 6:20 AM

    “I always seem to go back to horses with it comes to art” That sentence resonates with me! Great sculpture by the way 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      November 8, 2012 at 11:24 AM

      Hi Andrea. Aren’t horses just so majestic and breathtaking? There really is nothing like a horse. I checked out your website and you do stunning work! Wow, what a beautiful collection you have. Thanks for the nice comments. 🙂

       
      • Andrea

        November 8, 2012 at 3:16 PM

        Thankyou kindly 🙂 And I agree, there’s nothing on the planet as amazing as a horse.

         
  3. BreOfficialBlog

    November 8, 2012 at 12:17 PM

    Wow, this is really cool ! Splendid : ) Have a fantastic day. God Bless

     
    • Jenna

      November 8, 2012 at 2:14 PM

      Thank you so much for the very kind words, Bre. I appreciate it. I hope you’re doing well and having a great day too. 🙂

       
  4. janukke

    November 8, 2012 at 1:51 PM

    What a G-R-E-A-T horse! I love all about it. The belt is just right for the mane and the tail. And – oh – that left hind leg is lifted ever so horse-like! 🙂 You are a great wire sculptor!

     
    • Jenna

      November 8, 2012 at 2:16 PM

      Hi Jana! 🙂

      Thank you so much. I am so happy you like this sculpture. The belt certainly did lend itself well to this piece. Don’t you just love how horses like to rest a back foot that way? It’s so charming! Thank you so much. I appreciate it. I hope you’re doing alright. 🙂

       
  5. Jenna

    November 8, 2012 at 3:30 PM

    You’re welcome, Andrea. 🙂 Very beautiful work you do, especially the horses.

     

Leave a Reply

 
