RSS

The Canine American Gothic

07 Dec

A few weeks ago I was going through some older photos and came across this photo I took with my first camera, which actually used film. 😉  These are a couple of farm dogs that we used to have, Brownie and Tommy.  Tommy is the black one as you might have guessed, and he was the cutest puppy, but as an adult, he was kind of a tough looking fella.  Brownie was with us for many years and I have a lot of good memories of her.  They are both gone now, but this photo is one that made me smile.  They really reminded me of the classic American Gothic.

Brownie&Tommy - American Gothic Dogs

So as you may have guessed, my photography has been lagging lately.  I invested in a nice new camera recently, but something seemed to be wrong with it as I could not seem to get satisfactory results with it.  So I’ve returned it and will do some more research.  It’s been a frustrating experience and so photography in general has not been on the top of my list.  It’s a busy time of year; the Christmas card drawing is done (I’ll post it soon), and now I’ve recently finished a wire sculpture which will be a gift to my uncle.  A lot of going on, and I’m sorry for not posting more often lately.  I will hope to be better about it now. 🙂

I hope you enjoy this old photo of these tried-and-true farm dogs.  Thanks for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Canine American Gothic

  1. janukke

    December 7, 2012 at 3:30 PM

    Hi Jen, that´s a great picture! Those dogs look as if they want some action. Now. 🙂
    I am sorry to hear about your new camera. I hope things can be fixed.

     
    • Jenna

      December 7, 2012 at 8:39 PM

      Thanks so much Jana! Oh yes, they were always thrilled to help out with a cattle chase. I use the term “help out” very lightly. They usually had a way of doing exactly what we didn’t want them to do – especially Tommy! Haha! Thanks. I am disappointed about the camera, but I’m sure the right choice will become clear soon. 🙂 I appreciate the comments!

       
  2. zorgor

    December 8, 2012 at 11:44 PM

    That’s strange — it really does look like American Gothic! Weird!

    Good to hear from you! Yes, it is a busy season these days. Can I use that an an excuse for why my own posts have gotten so terse? No, not really. 🙂 Good luck with the camera situation!

     
    • Jenna

      December 9, 2012 at 11:26 PM

      I thought the likeness was pretty good myself, Zorgor. 🙂 Thanks! Yes, my poor blog has been neglected by me lately. Thanks for the comments. Always appreciated!

       

Leave a Reply

 
