RSS

Just a Little Goat

10 Dec

Since I cannot yet post my Christmas drawing which will be used for cards to send to family and friends, I thought I would post a quick sketch that I did tonight.  Sorry to those who have been waiting for the Christmas card drawing – it’s not yet time. 😉  Keep checking back; it will be here soon enough.

So I decided to try my hand at a goat.  We had a goat when I was a kid, and what a fun, crazy, frustrating, hilarious and ultimately very lovable pet he was.  He was the best watch dog (so to speak) that we ever had.  He was a great buddy, but he did enjoy ramming people in the leg and showing everyone who was boss.  He liked to eat people food like crackers and vegetable peelings and so on, but he really loved cardboard.  He would eat something like a Wheat Thin, but he preferred the packaging they came in.  There are so many funny memories about that goat.

The sketch below is a quick one that is from imagination, but it’s somewhat like what our goat looked like.  It took about 15 minutes and is drawn with a ball point pen in my trusty sketchpad.  It’s approximately 4 x 4 inches in size.

goat

I hope you like this.  Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2012 in All Artwork, Sketches

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Just a Little Goat

  1. janukke

    December 10, 2012 at 5:21 AM

    What a great sketch! And you drew it from imagination? Wow.
    He does look very mischievous indeed. 😉

     
    • Jenna

      December 10, 2012 at 11:45 AM

      Thanks so much, Jana! Yes, this one is from imagination. It helps to have been around goats before. I’m so happy you like it, as I know you’ve spent time with goats too. Thanks so much for the kice comments!

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    December 11, 2012 at 8:08 AM

    A beautiful drawing Jenna, and done only in 15 minutes, wow ! And from imagination, re-wow ! 🙂
    Having this little goat looked like a lot of fun. The story about him loving cardboard made me laugh, I imagine him chewing the packages, it makes me laugh 🙂 There are a few goats in a barn near my home and they seem to be friendly but are constantly bleating and jumping on a little shack. Winny would love to see them more closely, he’s always very excited when he sees them 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 11, 2012 at 3:10 PM

      Thanks so much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like this. Oh yes, our goat was a lot of fun and I wouldn’t mind having a pet goat again. While they do keep you on your toes, they are so memorable and just as funny as can be. 🙂 Hearing about your neighbor’s goats jumping on their shack makes me smile. Our goat loved to climb. If he was walking outside beside us, he would always go out of his way if it meant he could get up on a cement block or a board or anything a bit higher than the ground. They are so funny and quirky! I’m sure your Winny would love the goats. Our dogs usually got along with our goat, though Brownie once got butted for irritating the goat and she was always rather afraid of him after that. Thanks again for the kind comments. 🙂

       
  3. Lenore Busch

    December 11, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    Hi Jen. This is really a nice drawing. Lots of character to him. Take care friend and Merry Christmas to you and your family. Lenore

     
    • Jenna

      December 11, 2012 at 3:12 PM

      Hi Lenore. Thanks so much! I appreciate it and am happy to hear from you. Merry Christmas to you and yours too. Hope you have some nice plans and enjoy the season. 🙂

       
  4. zorgor

    December 12, 2012 at 7:53 PM

    I am impressed that you can dash off something like that so quickly! You should do caricatures. Make people’s kids look like goats.

     
    • Jenna

      December 14, 2012 at 10:20 PM

      Thanks so much for the kind comments, Zorgor! Hahaha, I got a good laugh from your comment about the children/kids (goats). The proud parents probably wouldn’t be too happy with me. 😉

       
      • zorgor

        December 14, 2012 at 10:30 PM

        That depends on the parents and the brats.

         
  5. Jenna

    December 15, 2012 at 8:01 PM

    Haha, how true! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
