RSS

Winter Wonderland

15 Dec

I realize that the term “winter wonderland” has been used to the point of wearing itself out, but no other words quite describe the beauty of that brilliant white blanket that changes the landscape so very much.  Last week we got a winter storm that left the land so beautiful and breathtaking.  The morning after the snowfall I could not help but race outside with my camera and try to capture the majesty of it all.

Creativity and artistic whims are funny things.  It makes us forget certain things as we race to find or make something beautiful.  After about 10 minutes of taking photos out in the yard in snowboots and a coat, I quickly realized I had forgotten a hat and gloves.  It was so cold!  Even so, I kept shooting – I didn’t want to miss a second of it.  It was rather nice to come in to the warmth of the house again though.

I hope you enjoy the photos.  I thoroughly enjoyed taking them.  Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2012 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Winter Wonderland

  1. janukke

    December 16, 2012 at 3:09 AM

    Jen, I just love your photography! You captured the winterly serenity outside very well. 🙂 — Here the snow has melted again! So it´s good to really dive into that winter wonderland at least on screen. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 16, 2012 at 11:31 AM

      Thank you so much for the sweet comments, Jana! I’m happy these brought you some cheer and wintry beauty today. 🙂

       
  2. Lenore Busch

    December 16, 2012 at 12:55 PM

    Thanks for sharing Jen. There is nothing like the magic of the first snowfall. Love seeing these………….Lenore

     
    • Jenna

      December 16, 2012 at 10:22 PM

      I’m so happy you like these, Lenore. I agree, that first snow fall is so spectacular. I hope you have a Merry Christmas. Thanks for the kind comments. They are always appreciated.

       
  3. zorgor

    December 19, 2012 at 8:50 PM

    Beautiful snowy shots! I especially like the single curled leaf in the snow.

    What is that red snow monster?

     
    • Jenna

      December 21, 2012 at 4:22 PM

      Thanks so much for the nice comments, Zorgor! Always appreciated!

      Haha, that red snow monster is a pot for plants in the shape of a big grinning cat. I never moved it inside, so it got hit with the snow storm. I just sculpted its face in the snow to give it that “cool cat” look…literally. 😀

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    December 23, 2012 at 12:26 PM

    What a great series Jenna ! It’s so magical when snow covers everything like that and you captured this magic with your beautiful photos. I love them all but I really like the photo with the hay bale, I love the composition. Are you still looking for buying a new camera ? And tell me if you would like me to explain the ISO via e-mail. I wasn’t sure if you were still interested in that.
    Merry Christmas ! And I wish you a wonderful New Year !

     
    • Jenna

      December 25, 2012 at 2:17 PM

      Thanks so much, Jocelyne! Isn’t it though? Just so beautiful with fresh snow brightening everything up so much. Thank you! I took several of that hay bale because I liked the composition also, as well as the colors.

      Yes, I am still on the hunt for a new camera. I took my Nikon D7000 back…then Christmas arrived and other things got in the way. I think I will try the D7000 again and see if I have better results. Thank you. I really appreciate your helpful information as I search and research cameras. Merry Christmas to you too! Thank you for the kind comments. Happy New Year too! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
