RSS

The Metallic T-Rex

21 Dec

Christmas is drawing near, and I thought I would share a project I have been working on.  As a Christmas gift to my uncle Larry, I recently finished a new wire sculpture.  This time, it’s a T-Rex.  The subject matter is quite different for me, but it was sure a lot of fun making this!  I can’t wait to give it to Larry and see what he thinks.  He loves dinosaurs. 🙂

This is my largest wire sculpture to date, measuring 10 & 1/2 inches tall x 16 inches long x 4 & 1/2 inches wide.  It weighs over three pounds, and I needed to mount this big sculpture on a plaque for good stability and reinforcing strength.  I had to use a metal rod to hold this in place, and then wired the feet to the base so they stay put.

I used 17 gauge steel wire for this…probably along the lines of 600-800 feet of it, though that is just an estimate.  The jaws are a couple of pieces of scrap metal that were quite rusty, but I scrubbed them up and painted them silver.  These two metal parts inspired the entire sculpture.  They just had to be dinosaur teeth…no doubt about it.

I hope you like this.  Thank you for looking, and I hope your pre-Christmas days will be joyful, happy and warm.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2012 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Metallic T-Rex

  1. zorgor

    December 21, 2012 at 11:28 PM

    OMG!! That is ten kinds of awesome!!! :O

     
    • Jenna

      December 22, 2012 at 11:05 AM

      I had a feeling you’d like this one, Zorgor. 🙂 Thanks so much for the kind comments! Means a lot.

       
      • zorgor

        December 22, 2012 at 4:17 PM

        Psssh — they’re well deserved!

         
      • Jenna

        December 22, 2012 at 7:43 PM

        🙂 Thanks for brightening my day with such sweet comments. 🙂

         
  2. BreOfficialBlog

    December 21, 2012 at 11:36 PM

    Very Cool Sculpture, it’s very creative : )

     
    • Jenna

      December 22, 2012 at 11:05 AM

      Thanks very much, Bre! It’s appreciated. 🙂

       
  3. janukke

    December 22, 2012 at 7:13 AM

    This T-Rex is very impressive! Your uncle is a lucky guy to get such a wonderful present! 🙂

    Happy holidays!

     
    • Jenna

      December 22, 2012 at 11:06 AM

      Thanks Jana! I hope he will like it. I plan to give it to him shortly after Christmas, as we now have company here for a few days. Should be fun to give it to him. 🙂 Thanks, and a Merry Christmas to you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
