RSS

Merry Christmas!

25 Dec

Merry Christmas!  Today, at long last, I am going to share my Christmas card drawing.  While not everyone on my list of friends and family have yet gotten their cards, I wanted to share this on Christmas Day.

This year, I worked from a photo I took last winter after a breathtaking storm.  There was a woods laced with snow and ice, and a single Angus cow standing before it.  It was a beautiful scene, and I was fortunate to have my camera handy.  It was very, very slow mapping out the whole woods for this drawing.  Talk about time consuming!  But I always do love a challenge, so that was ok.  I enjoyed this one a lot.

Christmas Cow

– 8×10 inches in size.

– Drawn in pen and ink.  Almost exclusively the Prismacolor Premier Illustration Marker, 0.005 mm size.

– Drawn on Strathmore 400 series Bristol Smooth paper.

ChristmasCowDoneCR

Feel free to click on the images to see them larger.

Below is the actual Christmas card we used the image for.

ChristmasCard2012CR

And here is the inside.  I wrote the poem for the card this year.  It was the first time I wrote the inside message, but I do love to write, so it was fun.

ChristmasCard2012 InsideCR

I hope you are warm and happy and surrounded by family and friends.

Merry Christmas from Oliver and me. 🙂

Yes, he actually seems to enjoy being dressed up.  He feels extra special then.

Thank you for looking.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. janukke

    December 26, 2012 at 4:36 AM

    This is just too good to be true!! Hey, that miracle is on its way to me? Hooray! NOW I really cannot wait. Duh, I hope it won´t be long! Jen, this is wonderful! 🙂 I love the serenity of the scene. It´s almost super-natural. Impressive.

     
    • Jenna

      December 26, 2012 at 12:46 PM

      Merry Christmas, Jana! Thank you so much for the very kind comments on my drawing and card. Yes, I am hoping your package will arrive soon. The card does look more crisp and clear in real life than it does here, so I think you’ll like it. Thank you very, very much for the kind words. I appreciate it so much.

       
  2. BreOfficialBlog

    December 26, 2012 at 12:36 PM

    Really nice Poem and Very Creative card, I really like how you did the snow/ice in the background. Merry Christmas to you too ( though it is the day after….;p ). God Bless

     
    • Jenna

      December 26, 2012 at 12:47 PM

      Thank you so much for the sweet words, Bre. I appreciate it very much! Merry Christmas. 🙂

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    December 27, 2012 at 10:49 PM

    It is so beautiful Jenna, I am impressed, once again ! You draw the woods so beautifully, it’s amazing ! I love the poem you wrote, it’s lovely. And Oliver looks so nice with his necklace of lights, he really seems to enjoy it ! He’s so cute 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      December 29, 2012 at 1:40 PM

      Thank you so much, Jocelyne! I am so happy you like this. It took quite a while to draw the forest, and I’m not sure if I’ll do another landscape in ink again anytime soon, but it was worth it in the end. I appreciate the comments, too, on the poem. Thanks! Oliver does love to be dressed up, oddly enough. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
