RSS

Ram – WIP

15 Jan

Hello dear readers,

I have been neglecting this blog terribly lately, and I’m sorry for that.  It’s been a busy time for me, as I am working on several art projects, but some of them must remain a secret for a bit longer as they will be gifts for friends.  I also have gotten a hard copy of my novel here in hand and have been proof reading it one last time before approving it.  Very soon now, I will have a number of copies printed, bound and shipped here to my door.  They will be available for sale.  More on that later. 🙂

Here is something I can share with you though, at long last.  I am currently drawing a Dall Sheep, but I’d prefer to call this handsome animal a ram.  When they have horns like this, they need the strong title of “ram”.

This is not yet finished, as I still have a lot of work to do on the fur as well as some more contrast.  The textures of the horns are pretty intense…who knew there were so many ridges and bumps on the horns of a ram?

This is 8×10 inches in size and I’m working on Strathmore 400 series Bristol Smooth paper.  I’m using Prismacolor Fine Line Markers sized .005, .01 and a bit of .03.  You can see these pens pictured below.

Art Pens 004

And finally, here is the actual work-in-progress image of the ram.

Ram

I hope you like it.  Have a great day, and thank you for looking.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Ram – WIP

  1. janukke

    January 15, 2013 at 12:53 PM

    Those horns are impressive! And the ram almost seems to be smiling, 😉 Another great piece of art, Jen. I admire your talent!

     
    • Jenna

      January 15, 2013 at 12:57 PM

      Hi Jana,

      Thanks so much for the kind words! The horns of a ram are truly impressive, and I was lucky to be so close to this one and get some pictures. He was a beautiful animal! Yes, I always think that he seems a bit smiley when I’m working on it – in the reference photo, his mouth curves up just like here. Kind of endearing somehow. Thanks again!

       
  2. zorgor

    January 15, 2013 at 6:48 PM

    You haven’t been neglecting your blog nearly as terribly as I’ve been neglecting mine!! 🙂 And you have good reasons! I’m just a little burned out…

     
    • Jenna

      January 16, 2013 at 1:02 PM

      Your blog will be there, waiting for you, when you feel like getting back to it. 🙂 Sorry to hear you’re burned out; I’ve been there myself. Hope the creativity comes back to you soon!

       
      • zorgor

        January 16, 2013 at 6:25 PM

        Actually, I think it’s starting to now. 🙂

         
      • Jenna

        January 17, 2013 at 11:08 AM

        Wonderful news, Zorgor! I look forward to seeing your newest creations! 🙂

         
  3. Lenore Busch

    January 16, 2013 at 8:14 PM

    Nice work again Jen. You really shine with your pen and ink.

     
    • Jenna

      January 17, 2013 at 11:09 AM

      Thanks so much, Lenore! It means a lot. I appreciate the kind words. 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    January 21, 2013 at 7:56 PM

    Oh Jenna, this is going to be another amazing drawing ! It’s not even finished and it’s already so beautiful. And these horns are huge ! All the details in them are so impressive, it’s very beautiful ! And I like to see the tools you use cause I have no idea what a fine line marker looks like ! I’m sorry I still haven’t respond to your email about Winny’s drawing. If I could just stop spending money on photography…. I am very interested in that drawing and as soon as I have the money, I’ll let you know. I had it, but I spent it on a camera bag… Speaking of camera, I finally received my camera, YAY ! The reason it took so long is because Pentax had sent my repaired camera to the wrong address, they shipped it somewhere in Quebec in a furniture warehouse and my camera was lost. They could never find it at the warehouse (we think it has been stolen). After searching for it for 4 days they finally shipped me a brand new one ! Phew… At least it was happy ending 🙂
    You must be so excited about your novel, wow, that’s great news ! Did you find a publisher or you will publish yourself ? I hope you will keep us updated about your novel 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      January 22, 2013 at 3:17 PM

      Hi Jocelyne. Thank you so much for the very encouraging comments! I am so happy you like this. Yes, a ram’s horns are just so big and heavy…very beautiful! Thank you! I do strive for detail, so this piece has been fun to work on. I’m glad you find the art supply photos helpful.

      No worries about not replying to the email about Winny’s portrait yet. I am happy to hear you are still interested, and just let me know if you decide you’d like that done. 🙂 It would be a pleasure to draw your sweet dog. Photography, I’m finding, is quite a thing to get into and it takes a lot of money to get the things you need. I’m so happy you found the great new camera bag. I’m even happier to hear you got your camera replaced after your old one was sent to the wrong address. How good of them to be willing to send you a new one. That is a happy ending! So now I’m hoping we can look forward to more photography posts at your blog?

      Yes, I am very excited about the novel being so near to finished now! I am self publishing the book, and my books will be printed by a great website called 48hrbooks.com. They seem very helpful, reasonable and the proof I’ve received is of good quality. So it’s going well, and I will have them available for sale very soon. Thank you for your interest! I will be making a new page for the novel once it’s all finished up. Thanks again for the nice comments, Jocelyne. Have a great week! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
