RSS

Bawk Bawk!

29 Jan

Here is one of my newest wire sculptures.  This was made for an art swap over at WetCanvas.com.  In return, I was given a very, very beautiful oil painting done by my swap partner.  The swap is an annual event in the Southwestern/Western forum of WetCanvas, and it is such great fun to be a part of it!

I made this out of steel fencing wire – I just love the solid, strong weight of steel versus aluminum, though both have their benefits.  Since it is a two-legged animal this time, I nailed it to a base so it would not be tippy.  It is hard work making a sculpture with only two balance points stand on its own!  So I ended up using a wooden furniture foot which was on hand.  I painted the stand a classic, country red to make this little chicken stand out.  In addition to the wire, I used some other objects in this.  The tail feathers are from a set of metal feather shaped objects I bought some time ago – they are wired into place so they stick up this way and that.  They wiggle and wobble a bit, but I rather liked that about them.  The comb and wattle are cut pieces of an artificial flower.  I have an artificial red rose laying around and sacrificed a couple of its petals for this project, cutting them down to the correct size and shape.  Attaching these tiny pieces of fabric was a real trick.  I used my acrylic gel as an adhesive and it was very finicky work getting that comb attached so it would stand straight up.  After a few difficult tries and some frustrated mutters of “Come on!  Stick to the wire!” it stayed put.  Barely.  I left my studio on a cautious tiptoe, hardly daring to breathe lest the chicken’s comb fell off.  I came back to it once it had dried and, luckily, it held on.  So I applied a couple of generous coats of the gel to fasten it better, to give the comb and wattle stiffness, and also to add some nice shine.  This piece was great fun, and I hope my swap partner likes it! 🙂

Bawk Bawk!

-Made mostly with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, as well as assorted found objects.

-With stand, it measures 7 inches high x 5 1/2 inches long x 3 inches wide.  Without stand, the chicken alone measures 4 inches high x 2 inches wide.

Thank you for looking!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2013 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Bawk Bawk!

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    January 29, 2013 at 1:37 PM

    Wow, I am not really a fan of chickens ( or chicken ), but you did a great job on this. So creative and original !

     
    • Jenna

      January 29, 2013 at 3:24 PM

      Thanks so much, Bre! I’m happy you like the sculpture even if you don’t care for chickens. It was fun to make. I appreciate the comments. 🙂

       
  2. Linda

    February 3, 2013 at 11:20 PM

    BAWK!

     
    • Jenna

      February 4, 2013 at 11:59 AM

      Hi Linda. Haha, thanks for checking out my blog. 😀

       
  3. zorgor

    February 4, 2013 at 1:23 PM

    That’s awesome! It really captures chicken-ness. All your wire sculptures are really great! As I’ve said before, you’re really on to something with these!

    I bet superglue would do the trick, if you have that issue again…

     
    • Jenna

      February 4, 2013 at 3:43 PM

      Thanks so very much, Zorgor! 🙂 I am happy you like these wire sculptures. Superglue is a good idea – I’ll keep that in mind. Thanks!

       
  4. Garden Walk Garden Talk

    February 13, 2013 at 5:39 PM

    Now that is one cool sculpture. And I love roosters too.

     
    • Jenna

      February 13, 2013 at 7:56 PM

      Thanks so much, Donna! Roosters are pretty cool, aren’t they? 🙂

       
  5. cindyschnackel

    March 12, 2013 at 8:42 PM

    Cool work!

     
    • Jenna

      March 13, 2013 at 7:05 PM

      Hi cindyschnackel. Thanks very much! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
