RSS

Faucet Man

25 Feb

Here’s something a little different than my usual stuff.  First, it’s an acrylic painting, and if you’ve been watching my blog for long, you know I don’t paint too often.  Also, this is a different sort of subject for me.  I wanted to try something sort of industrial, sort of vintage…and just a touch Steampunk.  So this is what I came up with.

Up in my studio, I have a collection of metal scraps and pieces of junk which I’ve accumulated over time for sculpture and mixed media projects.  One of my very favorite pieces in that collection is a part of a faucet that looks just like a man with pipe legs and faucet handle arms.  That is a great item, and while I haven’t decided what to sculpt with it yet, I thought it would be a fun challenge to try and capture it on canvas.  The metallic finish was a really interesting challenge as it reflects the colors around it so much.  The top/front half of the faucet part (the part that would stick out of the wall) is a shiny chrome color, but it is a bit grimy and tired from its years of setting in a shed.

Acrylics are traditionally matte in finish and since this is such a metallic piece, I used metallic acrylics to make this painting shine.  The background consists of a number of layers.  Originally, it was black with some red thrown in, but I didn’t especially care for that.  So I threw on a quick splash of metallic gold and loved it, so it’s mostly a gold background with touches of black and sort of a rust red peeking through here and there.  I also used some alternative methods.  I was inspired by a great artist who calls himself Zorgor.  You can check out his wonderful and cheerful blog here.  He does some very interesting things with paint, and I thought it might be fun to try something different too.  So for the flecks of black, mustard yellow, gold and silver, I diluted the paint and spattered it on the background to give it a greasy, oily, sort of roughed up look.  Then I took a couple of found objects and covered them generously with paint and pressed them to the canvas to leave unique marks (you can see a round shape in the upper right side of the canvas which was made by pressing a round necklace pendant to the canvas).  I also coated a chain with black paint and dragged it over the canvas in one or two places.  It was interesting to get a couple of unique textures in this painting.

The faucet man himself was painted mostly with brights and flats paintbrushes.  Once I had painted this piece, I knew I’d need to add something for a head.  What better than to take some found objects and attach them for some dimension?  The light bulb head was actually a plastic earring in the shape of a Christmas light bulb.  I sawed the earring in half so there would be a flat side to attach to the painting.  I glued it on with acrylic gel, and then I painted the light bulb and spattered it some so it didn’t stick out too much from the painting.  Finally, I decided my faucet man should have a nose, so I looked through my collection of junk and found this piece that was part of a clip-on earring once.  I bent it with pliers so it would rest easily over the curved light bulb and glued that into place with gel too.  As you may imagine, this piece was tremendous fun and a good way to think outside the box for a change!

Faucet Man

– 6 x 8 inch canvas board

– Acrylic paints applied with flats and brights brushes, some fan brushes for the threads of the pipe, and found objects dipped in paint for some of the background

– Plastic Christmas light earring for the head, and a metal part of a clip-on earring for the nose

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing my Faucet Man.  Thanks for looking!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in All Artwork, Paintings, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Faucet Man

  1. Photobooth Journal

    February 25, 2013 at 6:31 PM

    I really, really LOVE this!

     
    • Jenna

      February 25, 2013 at 9:53 PM

      Thanks very much, Photobooth Journal! I appreciate it so much!

       
  2. janukke

    February 26, 2013 at 3:25 AM

    Hey Jen,

    wow, you are very versatile! I love this, too! It is amazing how that earring appliance almost looks painted in the first picture.

    Hugs from Germany!

     
    • Jenna

      February 26, 2013 at 11:17 AM

      Jana, thank you very much! It’s fun to try new things and new techniques…you never know when you’ll discover something exciting and new! I’m glad the light bulb/earring looks natural…part of what I wanted with this was to make this as realistic as I could so the whole painting took on a 3D feel. I’m glad it works! 🙂 Thanks again. 🙂

       
  3. masqua

    February 26, 2013 at 7:42 AM

    Nicely done! Immediately put my in mind of the work Jennifer Depencier does. Here is a selection of her work:

    http://www.jenniferdepencier.com/galleries

     
    • Jenna

      February 26, 2013 at 11:19 AM

      Hi masqua. Thank you so much! You’re very kind! I looked at Jennifer Depencier’s work and it’s very inspiring and captivating! Thanks for the nice comments on my Faucet Man. 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    March 7, 2013 at 7:21 PM

    Jenna, this is so great ! Finding new ideas and subjects and think outside the box, like you said, is very creative and fun ! And this painting is a wonderful example. I really love the background and all that you did to add texture to it, you didn’t run out of ideas, it’s so creative ! And the head and nose, it’s just perfect ! You did a great job to make the metal shine and to make the base look rusty. It’s a really fun and original painting and I love it’s rugged look !

     
    • Jenna

      March 8, 2013 at 11:52 AM

      Thanks so much, Jocelyne. I really appreciate the kind comments! It was such great fun to do something quite different for a change. The background was probably my favorite part to paint…I just went with my gut feeling and had fun with it. I’m so happy you like it too. Thank you so much for the very kind comments on this!

       

Leave a Reply

 
