RSS

Wiry Dachshund

27 Feb

I made a sculpture for a friend recently, and now that he has received it, I’ll post it here to share with you.  This time, I did a little wire dachshund.  Emphasis on little…this is one of the smallest sculptures I’ve done.  It is made from steel wire.  I think dachshunds are so funny and adorable and had a great time trying to capture their whimsical shape and look in wire.

Wiry Dachshund

– Made almost entirely with 17 gauge steel fencing wire…some finer craft wire was used sparingly.

– Assorted pliers and cutters used, as well as a vice

– Measures 7 inches long x 3 inches high x 2 inches wide

Next up is a commission piece…I’ve been hired to do a scratchboard for a local nursing home.  It will be very, very large.  It will be, in fact, 3 x 3 feet in size.  Whew!  It will take a lot of work and time.  Should be fun though; I’ll be posting my progress here on my blog along the way.  I hope you’ll join me for the journey. 🙂

Hope you enjoyed seeing this little Dachshund.  Thanks for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2013 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Wiry Dachshund

  1. janukke

    February 28, 2013 at 6:33 AM

    Aw, very cute. And very dachshund-like. 🙂
    I cannot wait to see your work on the comission. How exciting!

     
    • Jenna

      February 28, 2013 at 11:45 AM

      Thanks so much, Jana! He was fun and pretty quick to sculpt. The commission will be in the works starting today. I am so excited to set up, take out my scratchboard blades and tools, and get started. Thanks for the kind comments. Always appreciated. 🙂

       
  2. Cassie Bouska

    February 28, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    Way fun! He’s a cute little guy 🙂 Good luck with the scratchboard project … I’m excited to see pictures of your progress. I’m sure it’s going to be awesome!

     
    • Jenna

      February 28, 2013 at 11:59 AM

      Thank you, Cassie. He was really fun to make! Thank you. It should be starting today, so I’ll be posting the progress here as I go. I appreciate your encouragement so much! Thank you! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
