RSS

Oak Tree (Part 3)

18 Mar

I’ve been continuing to work on this scratchboard and it’s coming along leaf by leaf.  For now, I’m focusing mostly on the bushy leafy areas.  The branches will come a bit later.  I’ve also added a couple of new tools to my collection.  A smaller fiberglass brush which looks like this.

677

And a curved X-Acto blade like this, which is great for more stark markings in the leaves.

679

And my workspace has become cluttered and messy, but that’s half the fun of art.  It begs to be messy!

680

And finally, here are two updates on this scratchboard.

670

Oak TreeWIP (4) 002

A couple of close-ups to show detail.

673

676

Thank you for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2013 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Oak Tree (Part 3)

  1. janukke

    March 19, 2013 at 5:01 AM

    Awesome. It looks like you are making good progress. 😉 And those new tools seem to do their job perfectly. Those leaves are stunning! I especially like the first close-up. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      March 20, 2013 at 12:00 PM

      Thank you, Jana! It’s coming along now. The new tools will be very helpful indeed, especially that curved X-Acto knife. Thank you for the encouragement and kind comments. I’d better get back to work on it now. 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    March 23, 2013 at 9:17 AM

    Oh my God… It’s going to be magnificent ! I would so love to see it for real ! I see a frame in one of the photos, is it going to be its frame ?

     
    • Jenna

      March 23, 2013 at 5:36 PM

      Thank you so much for the very kind comments, Jocelyne! It meas a lot! I’ll admit, it does tend to look better in real life than in a photo as the glare is unsightly in the photos. The frame you see is actually my bedroom mirror. I can see why you’d wonder about it being for the scratchboard though. My dad is actually going to make the frame for this as ordering a custom size frame is quite expensive. Thanks again for the comments. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
