RSS

Tough Guys

20 Mar

Last weekend, as a much needed break from my scratchboard project, I decided to draw something fun…something just for me.  So I turned to my collection of what I call “someday photos”…reference images I’ve collected over time for a rainy day or for inspiration.  Well, one of my favorite images in the group is one that a fellow blogger, Matt, of the wonderful and elegant picsofthen blog, very kindly let me use for a drawing.  Thank you so much for generously allowing me to use one of your beautiful photos as a reference, Matt!  I could not have enjoyed drawing these four tough guys more!  For those interested, you can check out the awesome original photograph here.

I drew this over the course of three days, a total of roughly six hours of work.  It was refreshingly quick to draw and it was so nice to draw something spontaneous and without pressure.  I used inks and white charcoal on a wonderful gray tinted paper for this drawing.  I don’t often mix media, but this time it seems to have a nice effect.  The gray paper was such fun to use, and I think I’ll be doing more like this in the future.

Tough Guys

– 8 x 10 inches on Strathmore gray tinted Pastel Paper

– Drawn with Faber-Castell Pitt Artist pens of various shades of gray and black, almost exclusively using the Brush Tip size

– Once the inks were in place, I added pops of white with a white charcoal pencil in areas such as the faces, eyes, shirts, scarves, buttons and just a hint on the leather gloves.

– This took roughly six hours to complete

FourToughGuysFinishedCR

Thanks for looking.  Have a great rest of the week, and happy first day of Spring!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Tough Guys

  1. janukke

    March 21, 2013 at 5:30 AM

    Impressive.

     
    • Jenna

      March 21, 2013 at 11:04 AM

      Thanks so much, Jana! 🙂

       
  2. usermattw

    March 21, 2013 at 10:19 AM

    I’m glad you got so much pleasure out of the photo! And I love what you did with it. Very atmospheric.

     
  3. Jenna

    March 21, 2013 at 11:05 AM

    I really did. It was great fun! Thanks for the kind comments. It means a lot to know you like the drawing. Thanks again! 🙂

     
  4. Inspired and pretty

    March 23, 2013 at 9:45 AM

    Such a great drawing Jenna, with lots of details, especially in their garments.
    If you love antique photos, there’s also this blog, Lost And Found, from the UK. Here’s the link :
    http://lostandfoundphotographs.wordpress.com/

     
    • Jenna

      March 23, 2013 at 5:46 PM

      Thank you, Jocelyne! I had such fun with these four men. They had such character in the photo that I could not resist. I appreciate the comments very much! 🙂

      Oh great! Thank you for sharing this link with me. I do really enjoy looking at old photos.

       

Leave a Reply

 
