RSS

Pelican Sketch

30 Mar

I think I can safely say that this is the first time a pelican has shown up on my blog.  I had the bug to sketch last night (perhaps as an escape from the finicky details of the scratchboard, which is progressing ok by the way).  Sometimes, the best thing to do is just grab the nearest pen and start something.  I did work from a reference image for this cranky old bird.  I prefer to have a reference image at hand when working.  Makes accomplishing accurate details easier.

I’ll get a post on the scratchboard up soon, but needed a break from it last night.

Pelican

– 6 x 8 inches in size, drawn in my field sketchbook

– Drawn with an ordinary ball point pen

– Took almost an hour to draw

PelicanCR

Thanks for looking!  Happy Easter!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2013 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink, Sketches

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pelican Sketch

  1. Lenore Busch

    March 30, 2013 at 9:58 PM

    Looks great Jenna. Guess what, I survived.

     
    • Jenna

      April 1, 2013 at 5:50 PM

      Thanks so much for the comments, Lenore. That’s such wonderful news! I am so thankful to hear that! 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    April 5, 2013 at 11:29 AM

    Another beautiful drawing Jenna. I love the contrast between darker and lighter parts of the drawing. Very beautiful !

     
    • Jenna

      April 5, 2013 at 10:06 PM

      Hi Jocelyne. Thanks so much! Contrast is something I always try to strive for, so it’s great that it shows here. Thanks for the kind comments! Hope you’re enjoying spring. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
