RSS

Poodle

07 Apr

First a Pelican, now a Poodle.  I can’t say I’m crazy about the appearance of a poodle, but somehow, it was most definitely something I wanted to try to sculpt in wire.  I mean, is there anything more distinct in shape than a poodle with a perfect trim?  It seemed a natural choice for wire sculpture, and so I decided to take it on.  What you see below is the result. I used my 16 gauge aluminum wire for this, which is softer than steel and is easier to use.  I also used a finer craft wire (20 gauge I think) for the loopy ears.  To get the curls, I wrapped the wire tightly around an awl I have for punching holes in things.  Once I had enough wire curled around the awl, I was then able to shape the wire into a large loop and then attach it to the head of the poodle. And yes, I am still working on my scratchboard tree; the changes and progress become less noticeable as I work because I am now looking at the more precise details throughout.  I’ll make a post on it soon though. Poodle – Sculpted with 16 gauge aluminum wire and some finer craft wire – Measures 6 inches long by 4 inches high by 3 inches wide

Be sure to check out my other sculptures as well!  Thanks for looking.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2013 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Poodle

  1. janukke

    April 8, 2013 at 8:57 AM

    Jen,
    your poodle is great! Super poodle-like. I have no idea how you make those amazing animals from wire. They all have great character.

    Cheers!
    Jana

     
    • Jenna

      April 8, 2013 at 12:48 PM

      Hi Jana,

      Thank you so much! I am so happy this has that poodle look. I really should make a video of the progress sometime; it’s hard to explain the process. Thank you so much for the very sweet comments! 🙂

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    April 17, 2013 at 9:20 PM

    When I look closely and see all those intricate twirls you do with the wire and see the final result, I am always so impressed ! It is really a poodle ! Wow, Jenna, wonderful work !

     
    • Jenna

      April 18, 2013 at 8:42 AM

      Jocelyne, it means so much that you see and appreciate all the curls and twists of the wire. It’s a rather whimsical art form which is a great change from realism sometimes. I’m so happy you like this and get the poodle “vibe” from it. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
