RSS

Josephine’s Shoes

21 Apr

Last Thursday, my mom and I went to an amazing flea market called Junk Bonanza.  It’s the second time we’ve gone, and we loved every minute there.  The amazing stuff, the talented ways the vendors set up and display their rusty, dusty, beautiful finds, the cheerful vibe of the whole place…it’s a fabulous event!

While there, I purchased a few things for my junk sculpture ideas including some old camera parts, an old gauge, and lenses from an eye doctor’s kit.  But my favorite find was a pair of women’s shoes which I believe date to the late 1800s or early 1900s.  They are leather, very supple yet, and just so tiny!  I have big feet, so these dainty little things are just adorable!

One other piece of happy news.  I believe I have finally settled on a new camera.  I chose the Canon T3i Rebel, and have the 18-55 mm lens as well as the 55-250 mm lens.  I’m having such fun playing with this camera, and the photos below were taken with this camera.  I’m still just beginning to learn about all the custom settings, but so far, I am happy with it. 🙂

Part of why I love these shoes so much is because somehow, it helps to have props to study while I am working on creative writing.  Zeke’s Fate may be complete, but Russ’ book (still untitled) is well in the works.  In Russ’ book, there’s a character by the name of Josephine, who will be a love interest for Russ.  When I saw these little shoes, I immediately thought they looked like they would be Josie’s shoes.  And they go great with my Bowler Hat, which I always visualized as Russ’ hat.  The two go hand in hand. 🙂

Josephine’s Shoes

I hope you enjoyed seeing these cute little shoes.  Have a great day!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2013 in Photography, The Cozy Red Lounge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Josephine’s Shoes

  1. janukke

    April 21, 2013 at 4:02 PM

    Those are fabulous shoes! And the pictures are just about perfect. It looks like you got the right camera. I am also thrilled that you found some useful stuff for your wire sculptures. It´s fun to watch your work!

     
    • Jenna

      April 21, 2013 at 9:51 PM

      Hi Jana. Aren’t they? I love them! Once I saw them at the show, I had to snatch them up. Thank you! I’m so happy you like the photos. I’m having such fun taking pictures with the new camera. I hope this is the right one. 🙂 Ah yes, I have a lot of supplies for sculptures now, and once my Big Tree is done, I’ll be free to tackle those other projects. Thanks for the wonderful support!

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    May 4, 2013 at 10:21 AM

    Jenna, what a difference in your photos, these are superb and the light and sharpness are perfect !
    It looks like you’re going to get the hang of it 🙂
    And those shoes…. Oh my… They are beautiful ! I can’t believe how well preserved they are, and with your hat it’s perfect. I would love to go to a flea market like this one, as I love vintage things. Imagine all the objects I could buy to make vintage photos !
    Is Russ’ book a completely different book or is it the sequel of Zeke’s fate ?
    I hope you have a nice day !

     
    • Jenna

      May 4, 2013 at 1:49 PM

      Thank you so much for the very kind comments on my photos, Jocelyne! It means a lot coming from you. 🙂 Aren’t the shoes lovely? I too was surprised at how well they’ve held up. The leather is still really supple yet, which means these must have been well cared for by their original owners. They do go beautifully with the bowler hat. You would love the flea market! There is so much to drink in, so much beauty in old things. You’d find endless things you’d want to photograph. 🙂 Maybe there’s something similar to “Junk Bonanza” in your area?

      Russ’ book is set apart from “Zeke’s Fate” entirely. “Zeke’s Fate” is set in 1869, while Russ’ book is around 1890 or in there. However, I’ve lightly considered having a character or two from “Zeke’s Fate” pop into Russ’ book just for smiles. Aside from that though, they are completely different in plot and time period.

      Thanks again, Jocelyne! Your kind comments are always appreciated. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
