RSS

The Birds Say it’s Spring

25 Apr

Here we are on April 25th, and yet the world is still cold, colorless, and remains in a wintry slumber.  A year ago at this time, this is what it looked like outside.

047

And this year, on almost exactly the same day of the year, here is how things are looking.

Canon Practice 020

Ah, I am so ready for fresh green grass and leaves on the trees.  Until then, though, the birds still sing as if they are in paradise.  They tend to fool the senses as they sing so happily, and one forgets how cold and wet it is outside.  I am glad for the birds.

The deer are getting hungry as they await the tender fresh greens.  I saw one a few days ago that was painfully thin.  I ached for him because he was small and clearly rather young.  I hope he’ll be alright.

In the meantime, as spring struggles to arrive, I have made a video of some of the local wildlife I’ve been seeing.  The first pretty little singing bird makes me smile even if it was raining and dreary out that day.  Such a serene sound, the sound of birdsong!  I’m not entirely sure what kind of bird it is…some kind of sparrow I think?  Feel free to share what it is if you know.  Next is a flock of what I believe are Sandhill Cranes.  I’ve never seen them fly over this area before, so that was a fun thing to see.  The two deer are whitetail deer which are sneaking ever closer to the yard in attempt to find food; they know we have a few apple trees and that there are always some apples forgotten on the ground for them to enjoy.

I hope you enjoy the video and that spring will come soon now.  We’re finally supposed to get a few days in the upper 60s, so I think we’re very close now. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2013 in Photography, Videos

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Birds Say it’s Spring

  1. janukke

    April 26, 2013 at 1:06 PM

    Oh yes, I am ready for spring too! Those pictures are impressive. The weather this year is quite different from last year. – And hey, I can finally watch your videos! I have no idea why – maybe one of those last updates on my software did the trick -, but I am very glad. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      April 26, 2013 at 3:27 PM

      Jana, yes, won’t spring be lovely? We hit 70 degrees today. Yay! 🙂 I think spring is creeping in. Oh, that’s wonderful! I’m so happy my video worked for you. That made my day to read that. Great news! Thanks for the kind comments. As always, I really appreciate them. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
