RSS

Big Tree (Part 6)

07 May

Believe it or not, the snow has completely thawed away already and it’s green and warm outside, what a welcome sight! Speaking of greenery and spring, here’s some more progress on the tree. Since my last update, I’ve done a great deal of filling in the leaves and branches so it’s a very solid mass of tree through the center now. The tree, in essence, is ready for color.

TreeCR

AssortedPhotosMayBlizzard, & Tree (Part 7) 088CR

And now, I am finally at a point where I’ve been able to introduce a new texture to the Big Tree. Grass has now come into play. It’s a refreshing change and I’ve really been enjoying it. I’ve used steel wool (pictured below) for a soft, lush base for the grass.

Big Tree (8) 001

I’ve also been using my X-Acto knife and a wire brush tool (pictured below) for the actual grasses and textures.

Big Tree (8) 006

And now, here is the way the grasses are shaping up. I think I will fade the grasses out to the left, right and below the tree so that there won’t be a hard line of grass bordering the whole base of this scratchboard. It is, after all, all about the tree.

Big Tree (8) 009CR

A couple of close ups.

Tree 8 002CR

Tree 8 004CR

I hope you enjoy, and thanks for following along as I work at this. Comments are always appreciated! 🙂 Have a great week.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2013 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Big Tree (Part 6)

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    May 7, 2013 at 1:43 PM

    Wow, wow, wow….the amount of detail in the texture of this tree….Looking fantastic!!

     
    • Jenna

      May 8, 2013 at 4:33 PM

      Thank you for the generous comments, Bre! Much appreciated! 🙂

       
  2. janukke

    May 7, 2013 at 1:45 PM

    Jen, that´s a wonderful tree. It looks a little mystical, being white on black. Like that tree from the movie Avatar. It´s amazing!

     
    • Jenna

      May 8, 2013 at 4:38 PM

      Thank you, Jana. I’m glad you like it so much so far. The white on black will change once I add colors, I’m afraid, but it will still remain a pop of bright on a black background. Thanks again. 🙂

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    May 8, 2013 at 8:48 PM

    Oh wow ! This is going to be so wonderfully beautiful Jenna ! It’s such a beautiful tree with lots of branches and leaves, it looks like a very old tree. The grass makes a big difference, it is really beautiful and it looks so soft I also liked seeing the tools you used. I can’t wait to see this tree with its colours, it’s going to be a masterpiece !

     
    • Jenna

      May 8, 2013 at 10:35 PM

      Thank you very much, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like the fullness of the tree as well as the grass. Once I put the grasses in, I too felt that it was a big step toward the finish. I’m glad you enjoy seeing the tools I’m using…I almost didn’t bother, but decided to snap some photos to post here. 🙂 Thanks so much! I honestly believe the next update will (finally!) include colors. Thanks again for the wonderful comments!

       

Leave a Reply

 
