RSS

A Bear!

11 May

Several days ago, I got to see something I had never seen in the wild, at least not locally! Right on my parent’s home, up in the field, we spotted a black bear wandering around. It was very large and seemed perfectly content to graze in the field as we watched. It was an amazing sight, and I was fortunate enough to get several photographs and almost ten minutes of video as the bear casually ambled along through the field. Unfortunately, the photographs are blurred due to the bear being quite a long way off, but there was no doubt it was a bear. I hope you enjoy the photos and the video. Thanks for looking! πŸ™‚

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “A Bear!

  1. janukke

    May 12, 2013 at 5:58 AM

    When you say “bear”, you mean it! Wow, thatΒ΄s impressive. HeΒ΄s huge. And terribly thin after the long winter. Those are great shots given the distance. You really get a good impression of that bear. I like the video too! He seems very relaxed and careless.

     
    • Jenna

      May 14, 2013 at 6:06 PM

      Isn’t he a nice big bear, Jana? I’m so glad you enjoyed the video and photos. He did look really thin…it was a hard winter. Thanks very much for the comments. πŸ™‚

       
  2. Lenore Busch

    May 14, 2013 at 7:34 PM

    Love the bear Jenna. I had one walk right past me at a camp ground in Colorado. It was just at the crack of dawn and I had started a campfire. I withheld my scream until after he passed and lit into the camper and woke everyone up. It is a terrific memory.

     
    • Jenna

      May 15, 2013 at 11:58 AM

      Hi Lenore,

      Wow, what a story! I can’t imagine how terrifying, yet in hindsight, how amazing, it must have been for you to have a bear come so close to you! Incredible! You must still feel a thrill when you think about that. Thanks for sharing. That is quite a memory for you! πŸ™‚

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    May 18, 2013 at 11:06 AM

    OMG ! A bear ! I am so afraid of them ! But I don’t know why we are all so afraid of bears, they are as much afraid of us as we are of them. We should be much more afraid of cougars ! When I walk in the woods with Winny I always carry a little bell and talks to him so a bear could hear me and move away. This is a big bear, I suppose he’ll get much bigger this summer. I loved the video and your choice of music made me laugh ! Here is a video of a big scary bear but with a funny, relaxed and cheerful music ! πŸ™‚
    Your photos reminded me of photographer I follow on Facebook and she takes wonderful photos of all kind of animals and recently she captured a bear family, a mom with her 2 cubs. Here’s the link to the photo : https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=661423873873609&set=a.148064245209577.30190.130193553663313&type=1&theater

    She has many very beautiful photos on her page !
    Happy week-end Jenna πŸ™‚

     
  4. Inspired and pretty

    May 18, 2013 at 11:13 AM

    These are two different links, I so love the second photo !

     
    • Jenna

      May 18, 2013 at 11:44 AM

      The bear took me by surprise too, Jocelyne. πŸ™‚ It was quite a thing to see. Of course, I probably won’t feel quite as safe walking up to the pond alone anymore, but will be taking the 4-wheeler so I can have a chance at getting away if he comes my way. πŸ˜‰ Thanks! I’m glad you got a kick out of the music I chose. I kept thinking it should be something epic and dangerous, but this bear seemed so tranquil that I decided to lighten it up. He seems to be a rather happy bear I think. Thanks for sharing those links. Stunning photos of the mama bear and her cubs. Wow, what great captures. Thanks for sharing them with me. I really enjoyed seeing them.

      Have a great weekend yourself, and enjoy the May weather. πŸ™‚

       
      • Inspired and pretty

        May 18, 2013 at 2:10 PM

        About the music you chose, I hope you didn’t took it the wrong way. It made me laugh but I think it’s a really good choice and it does make us look at this bear in another way and see that bears are not so dangerous after all πŸ™‚

         
      • Jenna

        May 18, 2013 at 2:32 PM

        Not at all, Jocelyne. I am really happy you like the music choice. It is cheerful and somehow suits the bear, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚

         
  5. Inspired and pretty

    May 18, 2013 at 10:00 PM

    Absolutely ! πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
