RSS

Big Tree, Now in Color!

18 May

At long last, this scratchboard is in color. It was a scary step, but once I started putting color in, it became more comfortable, and now I can’t imagine going back. I am coloring this with Ampersand Inks (pictured below). They are as runny as water, but very full of pigment so I’ve been diluting them in water and mixing them as needed. They are something really different than I’m used to, but very enjoyable to work in. Beneath the tray of ink colors, you can see a little plastic palette, which is what I use to mix the inks in. I then apply the color to the board with a small, soft paint brush.

Big Tree (8) 011

The beauty of these inks is that I can scratch them off as easily as the black of the scratchboard itself. Below is the result of my first washes of color. At this point, I had applied two layers to the leaves, and almost two layers to the bark. The grasses were untouched by color at this point. Please excuse the poor photos. This thing is now laying flat on a table, which really makes it hard to photograph. If I kept it upright while painting it, the colors would run.

I’ve since added several more layers, including darker colors to add more depth to the piece. I really am nearing the finish now, so stay tuned. 🙂 Thank you for looking, and have a great weekend!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2013 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Big Tree, Now in Color!

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    May 18, 2013 at 11:18 PM

    Wow, Incredibbllllleee piece of work. The color really is bringing life to the tree!

     
    • Jenna

      May 20, 2013 at 11:09 AM

      Thanks so much for the wonderful comments, Bre! I am so happy you like this tree. The colors are a big change, aren’t they? The tree is almost finished now at long last. It’s been a long haul, but really a lot of fun. I’ll try to post the finished tree soon.

       
    • janukke

      May 21, 2013 at 9:45 AM

      The colours look great! They give the tree a very cheerful and light touch. This is an old, happy tree!

       
      • Jenna

        May 22, 2013 at 11:57 AM

        Thanks very much, Jana! Yes, they did brighten it up some, didn’t they? I’m happy you like it. I’ll be posting what I hope will be the finish soon! 🙂

         
  2. Inspired and pretty

    May 30, 2013 at 9:41 AM

    Wow ! It’s beauuuuuutiful ! It must be difficult to give it away when it’s finished, I know I would want to keep it ! I love the colours, it really illuminates the tree with a soft glow, it’s beautiful. I can’t wait to see the final result 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      May 30, 2013 at 11:19 AM

      Thank you for the very kind comments, Jocelyne! You’re always so encouraging with your posts and comments. 🙂 Yes, I will kind of miss it, but it’s been easier knowing I was doing this for someone else from the start. It’s harder when I do something for fun, and then someone wants to buy it. I did not let myself become too attached to this scratchboard, because I knew it would be leaving. As most any artist will tell you, we get very attached to our artworks…they’re our “babies”. 😉 One must let the work go sometimes though, if they hope to have it seen out in the world. Thanks so much! I believe this is finished except to spray it with fixative. I won’t photograph it again until I’ve sprayed it. Right now, the colors look puddled and the camera can’t get past the puddles to actually see the colors. 🙂 The finish will come soon though.

       

Leave a Reply

 
