RSS

Camera Practice…Still Trying to Learn…

23 May

I love my new camera, but am still learning all about the settings. I’m happy with it, but my photos aren’t quite what I expect them to be. However, I suppose I can’t expect perfect shots every time. As you’ll see, a couple are a bit out of focus. On top of my inexperience with the camera, it’s been breezy, so the subjects are always moving this way and that. I’ll share some of my recent photos regardless of that. It’s beautiful outside with flowers and blossoms everywhere…there is much to enjoy. I hope you’ll like my photos. As usual, I enjoy macro subjects, so you’ll see a lot of close shots here. Thank you for looking!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2013 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Camera Practice…Still Trying to Learn…

  1. Inspired and pretty

    May 25, 2013 at 11:59 PM

    I enjoyed seeing these lovely flowers Jenna, the colours are wonderful ! And I can tell by looking at these photos that you really have a good camera. The light, focus and sharpness are great, and compositionally you have a good eye too for photography πŸ™‚ I especially love # 5, 13, 16, 23, 34, 40, 55, 85, 102 and 115. My favourites are # 27, I love this look when the sun hit right in front of the lens resulting in a little washed-out look, and # 28, what a great composition, I really love this photo !
    The reason you’re not 100% satisfied is because it takes an in-depth understanding of your camera settings and a lot lot lot of practice and experimenting with these different settings. Especially if you have a good amount of sky in your compositions because the camera meter cannot expose properly brighter and darker parts in a same image, that is why you sometimes end up with photos that lack contrast and lose details. This is where you need a graduated neutral density filter to darken the sky, or take multiple shots of the scene with different exposures to expose properly bright and dark parts (that is known as HDR, high dynamic range, I’m sure you have heard of it) and then blend the images in Photoshop or Photomatix or any other software. If you shoot in Auto, you will have nice photos but if you can learn the Manual mode you will be much more satisfied with your photos because you decide the settings: the ISO, the aperture, the shutter speed, instead of leaving it to the camera. It takes practice and understanding of how it all works but with time, when you get better at it, your photos will look better also. And in manual mode you can change the metering modes when necessary, look in your manual for Evaluative metering, Partial metering, Center-weighted and spot metering. These metering modes all have a different impact in your photos Here is an article I found : http://www.photoplusmag.com/2013/03/01/canon-dslr-tips-whats-the-best-metering-mode-to-use-with-autofocus/
    If you want beautiful sharp images with macro photography, especially with flowers, you need a good, solid tripod and a shutter release to minimise vibrations. The tripod alone is often not enough. I have many photos that aren’t sharp or out of focus because I took them handheld. When they are out of focus I tend to think it’s my fault but very often it is because of vibrations in our hands. You can also use a selective focus to make sure you’re focusing at the right place.
    I’m sorry if I’m overwhelming you with this very long comment ! Probably the longest one you received to this day ! I’m just passionate about photography and I don’t mean to overwhelm or discourage you. Go at your pace with the camera, see what works and what doesn’t and enjoy the journey ! Happy Sunday Jenna πŸ™‚

     
    • Jenna

      May 26, 2013 at 12:50 PM

      Wow, what a great post with much food for thought! Thank you for sharing this wonderful information with me, Jocelyne. There is much to drink in and learn. I’m glad you feel I have a good camera. Now just to learn all about it. πŸ™‚ I almost never use the “Auto” function…I try to keep it on “Manual” so I become increasingly more comfortable and familiar with the settings. Besides, “Manual” is much more fun! πŸ™‚ Thanks again. I will be referring to this post in the future. πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
