RSS

Gobble Gobble

16 Jun

I have been in a wire sculpture mood lately. The hardest part is deciding what to try and sculpt. Back when I was working on my wire horse, while waiting for glue to dry, I was impatient. The hardest part about art is patience. So I began to play with wire to get past my restlessness. This is what I ended up with. It’s a turkey, which required less planning and thought that the more complicated horse. However, I do feel that less sometimes is more, and I enjoyed making this little bird.

Gobble Gobble

-Made with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, as well as fine craft wire in silver (to attach the tail piece) and red craft wire for the wattle. The tail feathers are made with embellishments I bought for another project which didn’t pan out.

-This measures 4 inches tall by 3 1/2 inches long by 2 1/2 inches wide (that is, across those big clown feet, which are the widest part of the sculpture)

Thanks for looking!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2013 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Gobble Gobble

  1. willowandthetatertots

    June 16, 2013 at 12:28 AM

    MOL, that turkey is adorable!

     
    • Jenna

      June 16, 2013 at 11:33 AM

      Thanks so much, Connie! I’m glad you like it. πŸ™‚

       
  2. janukke

    June 16, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    This is amazing! So turkey-like. It is a miracle to me how you can such perfect sculptures from wire. It looks as if the turkey is about to pick up some corn off the ground. And that red wattle is just perfect! Love the three feathers too. πŸ™‚ You are awesome.

     
    • Jenna

      June 16, 2013 at 11:38 AM

      Jana, you always say the most wonderful things. Thank you very much for the comments! I’m so happy this says “turkey” because for a while after it was done, I wasn’t sure if it was a turkey or a chicken. I ended up with turkey with that wattle. Thanks again. I really appreciate it. πŸ™‚

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    June 29, 2013 at 10:52 PM

    This is a really beautiful sculpture Jenna. I love the touch of colour from the tail and wattle. The way the turkey is standing is simply perfect. I agree with Jana, you are awesome !

     
    • Jenna

      June 30, 2013 at 8:34 PM

      Thank you! This was a fun one to make, one of those rare sculptures that just kind of came together. Some put up such a fight, but this one clicked. Aw, thank you. πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
