RSS

This Little Piggy WIP

19 Jun

How long has it been since I’ve done some real, detailed, stippling, pen and ink drawing?  Too long!  I’ve not done any serious pen and ink drawing since early March, when I finished my Ram.  Now with my big Oak Tree finished – yes, finished at last!  I just need to get a good final picture of it before I post the finale – I can now spend some time working in my old favorite medium, pen and ink, again.  I chose to go with a pot belly pig, because I found a reference photo generously provided by a fellow artist and could not resist the wiry hair, the wrinkly snout, or the puppy-dog-like eye.  I once took in a stray pot belly pig and kept him for a short while until his owner came to take him home.  It was an interesting experience to be sure.

I hope you will feel free to follow along as I begin another work-in-progress of a pen and ink drawing.

This is 8×10 inches in size and I am drawing it on Strathmore 400 series Bristol Smooth paper.  What you see is a graphite preliminary sketch, but I have since begun to add ink using Prismacolor Fine Line Markers and Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pens.  This should be a fun one to draw!

Piggy WIP 001

The paper is white; I just had to increase the darks and contrast to make the outline show.  Thanks for looking. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in All Artwork, Pen and Ink

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “This Little Piggy WIP

  1. willowandthetatertots

    June 19, 2013 at 1:58 PM

    cool! BTW, my friend loved the Appaloosa!

     
    • Jenna

      June 19, 2013 at 4:22 PM

      Thanks very much. Wonderful! I’m so happy your friend likes the print. Thanks again. 🙂

       
  2. Cassie Bouska

    June 19, 2013 at 5:17 PM

    I’m excited to see the progress! I haven’t been able to post comments lately (spotty coverage and dependent on my phone for email), but I’ve LOVED being able to track your progress on the oak tree project … it’s really a beautiful piece!

     
    • Jenna

      June 20, 2013 at 12:22 PM

      Thank you, Cassie. I’m so happy you enjoyed my oak tree progress. I’m glad you enjoy watching my blog. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

       
  3. willowandthetatertots

    June 23, 2013 at 6:33 PM

    drat! now I have to go find the oak tree

     
    • Jenna

      June 25, 2013 at 9:07 PM

      Thanks, but I haven’t posted the grand finale on the tree yet. I will be doing that soon. 🙂

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    June 26, 2013 at 8:24 AM

    And I’m sure it’s going to be another beautiful drawing 🙂
    Have a nice day Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      June 26, 2013 at 3:01 PM

      Thanks so much for the encouragement, Jocelyne! It doesn’t look like very much yet, but I plan to post an update on it soon. Have a good day yourself. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
