RSS

The Pond, the Beetle, the Kittens, and the Birds…

23 Jun

The more photos I take with my new camera, the more I love it.  There’s so much to experiment with.  I’m enjoying photography in all new ways now.  Here is a sampling of what I’ve been photographing.  You’ll find cats, kittens, nature shots, cliff swallows, an Eastern Eyed Click Beetle (which landed right on my shirt the other day – what a beautiful creature!), flowers, and other nature shots.  In the series of pond photos, you’ll see a few pictures of swallows skimming the surface of the water.  They are amazing because they skim the water, and then hit the water, almost falling in, and then fly off again.  They are mesmerizing to watch!

Enjoy the photos, and thanks for looking!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2013 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “The Pond, the Beetle, the Kittens, and the Birds…

  1. willowandthetatertots

    June 23, 2013 at 6:31 PM

    Love them! You make me want to go find my camera..such cute babykits, can’t help but wonder where you are that it is safe for them to be outside, or do you supervise their playtime?

     
    • Jenna

      June 25, 2013 at 9:18 PM

      Thanks very much, Connie. They live on the deck, which is very safe and secure (and far from the road – I live on a farm in the country). They’re growing up fast! Thanks again.

       
  2. janukke

    June 24, 2013 at 3:05 AM

    Those are amazing pictures! I can see that you do are totally in tune with your new camera now. Thanks so much for sharing these pictures! I especially enjoyed seeing the swallows, that water fixed in mid-motion is a fun image.

     
    • Jenna

      June 25, 2013 at 9:22 PM

      Thanks so much, Jana! I’m…getting there. The camera still takes some getting used to, but I do feel a lot more comfortable now than I did at first! 🙂 I’m so happy you enjoyed the photos. Watching those swallows swoop over the water is such fun to watch!

       
  3. grannyandthebaldguy

    June 25, 2013 at 2:04 PM

    You are doing great with your new camera and these are great shots. I always love the kitties.

     
    • Jenna

      June 25, 2013 at 9:24 PM

      Thank you so much, grannyandthebaldguy! I appreciate the kind words. You should see my cat and kitten photo collection! Every time I have my camera out, it seems, I end up photographing cats! 🙂 Thanks again.

       
  4. Inspired and pretty

    June 29, 2013 at 10:34 PM

    What beautiful photos Jenna ! I really love photo #147, and # 051 052 are superb, especially # 052 with a beautiful light and the wonderful blue eyes of the cat. Fern #068 is such a beautiful photo and I love the composition of #100. The photos of the bird in his nest are amazing, is it a swallow ? I also love the flowers in the pots, it’s beautiful. You have a really good camera Jenna and a good eye to capture beauty all around you. I love to see your photos ! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      June 30, 2013 at 8:33 PM

      Jocelyne, it means so much to hear you enjoy seeing my photography, because you’ve given me a lot of helpful advice and help along the way. I am so appreciative of the help. 🙂 Yes, the bird in the nest is a cliff swallow; we have a lot of them around this year. They are sweet and fairly brave birds. People can get pretty close to them. Again, thanks so much!

       
      • Inspired and pretty

        July 1, 2013 at 12:06 PM

        Don’t hesitate if you have more questions, I’ll be happy to help 🙂

         
      • Jenna

        July 2, 2013 at 1:26 PM

        Thanks so much, Jocelyne. I will keep that in mind. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
