RSS

Opposites Attract / Partners in Crime

26 Jun

I’m not sure what to call this two-in-one set of birds. As I made these two little birds, I was somehow thinking of Bonnie and Clyde. I’m not sure why that was, because as far as I know, these two harmless little birds have no criminal history whatsoever. 😉

These two little bitty birds are my smallest sculptures to date.  I used a softer, finer wire for them, which made the creative process much easier on the fingers.  Originally, I just made the black crow, but he seemed so lonely, so I made him a little friend In copper.  I added fine craft wire for the beaks in each other’s colors as a sort of opposites attract theme.

The black crow is made with 19 gauge steel wire (dark annealed).

The copper bird is made with 18 gauge copper wire.  Both kinds of wire are finer and softer than my usual 17 gauge steel wire.

Each bird measures approximately 2 & 1/2 inches long by 1 &1/2 inches tall by 3/4 inch wide.  The birds took about an hour each to make.

Thank you for looking! 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2013 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Opposites Attract / Partners in Crime

  1. zorgor

    June 27, 2013 at 11:18 AM

    Excellent birds!

     
    • Jenna

      June 27, 2013 at 12:45 PM

      Well, Zorgor! Hi there! I haven’t seen you around for months. I hope all is well with you. Thanks so much for the kind comments on these little birds. I’m happy you like them. 🙂

       
  2. Sandra's Stories

    June 28, 2013 at 11:54 PM

    Creative! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      June 29, 2013 at 12:10 AM

      Hi Sandra. Thanks so much for the kind comment on these birds. Great to hear from you. 🙂

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    June 29, 2013 at 10:45 PM

    I love it in these colours and they are perfect together, they were made for each other and can’t be separated lol ! Great sculptures Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      June 30, 2013 at 8:29 PM

      Thanks so much, Jocelyne! Yes, they make a cute couple, don’t they? Somehow, I feel the black one is the boy and the copper one is the girl – she needed the shiny bling. 😉 Thanks again!

       

Leave a Reply

 
