RSS

Big Tree, the Big Finale

05 Jul

Yes, that’s right.  At long, long last, my scratchboard tree commission for the nursing home has been finished, framed, and delivered to the nursing home.

What a ride this has been.  I had never previously worked this large before except for a quick crayon sketch of Goliath for a Bible School class a few years ago.  I was so honored that the nursing home staff asked me to do this to hang in their hallway.

After applying the colored inks to the grasses at the base of the tree, and finishing off the tree itself with a few tweaks, this is complete.  I applied a good deal of fixative so it will hold up better over time.  I probably applied 10 or more coats of fixative.  My parents built, painted, and sealed the frame and they did such a great job!

As those of you who have been following along know, this is a very large board at 3×3 feet in size.  The scratchboard, with its wooden cradle (for stability), the frame, the glass, and the backing, all together weigh an impressive 47.8 pounds.  This was a beast to move!

It was received at the nursing home with great enthusiasm and appreciation, which made the entire process all the more exciting to do.  I am so happy they like it.  I know it will have a good home there.

Well finally, I suppose I should show you the scratchboard tree, itself.

The Guardian

– 3×3 feet in size.

– Ampersand Scratchboard

– Tools used were X-Acto Knives, Fiberglass Brushes, various Scratchboard tools, Steel Wool, and Ampersand Colored inks applied with paint brushes.

– I began this tree on February 28th, 2013 and finished the drawing part of the project almost exactly 3 months later.  It took probably around 200 hours to draw, ink and finish this piece.  The planning, building, assembling, and completion of the framing took some more time, so it was officially finished just a few days ago.

It was extremely difficult to photograph, but this is about the best I could do after some photoshopping.  This looks much like the original artwork, though it does lack some detail.  Click to view it larger.

The Tree CR

Close ups.

The Tree Closeup 2 CR

The Tree Closeup CR

To give an idea of the size, I thought I would share this photo of myself with the tree.

Tree With Jen 015Edit

Thank you for looking, for the comments, for your patience, and for following along with this commission piece.  I really appreciate it all. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2013 in All Artwork, Scratchboard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Big Tree, the Big Finale

  1. BreOfficialBlog

    July 5, 2013 at 9:28 PM

    Oh my! This is stunning Jenna! Congratulations on completing the project. Just looking at the details captured by the camera….you can tell it took some serious patience. Wonderful!

     
    • Jenna

      July 6, 2013 at 12:10 PM

      Thanks so much for the wonderful comments, Bre! Yes, this took quite a lot of patience and time. Roughly 200 hours went into it, so those details did take their own sweet time. 🙂 It was worth it though. Thanks again!

       
  2. janukke

    July 6, 2013 at 3:12 AM

    Hooray! Congrats for finishing this stunning piece of art! You put an amazing amount of detail in that tree. I am sure it will be admired lots by the folks in the nursing home. What an amazing scratchboard piece it is!

     
    • Jenna

      July 6, 2013 at 12:15 PM

      Thanks for all the encouragement and pep talks along the way with this, Jana. 🙂 It’s meant so much to have you cheering me on. 🙂 Thanks…you know how I enjoy detail. Much like your extremely intricate knitting; the finer the details, the better in my opinion. Thank you so much!

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    July 10, 2013 at 8:40 AM

    How beautiful Jenna, wow ! I am amazed at the superb details of the grass, trunk and branches. The leaves are also so beautiful, I love the way you draw them, The warm colours of the leaves and grass give the tree a wonderful glow, as if illuminated by the setting sun. A superb piece Jenna !

     
    • Jenna

      July 10, 2013 at 12:04 PM

      Thanks very much for the sweet comments on my tree, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like it. Your kind comments along the way have been much appreciated. Thank you for the wonderful words on this. 🙂

       
  4. treneebolton

    August 25, 2013 at 3:49 PM

    This is gorgeous…great job!

     
    • Jenna

      August 26, 2013 at 11:17 AM

      Hi treneebolton. Thank you so much for the nice comment. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
