RSS

Draft Horse Wire Sculpture

29 Jul

I’ve been working on sculptures more than ever lately, and this is my most recent horse.  I wanted to make a strong, stocky draft horse this time.  I tried to give him some heft and weight, especially through the powerful neck and in the legs.  I wasn’t sure how to handle the mane to give this horse a showy draft horse feel, but found a great string of beads to attach for the mane.

I used a jewelry/metal glue in some areas of this sculpture.  I’ve never used it before, but it seems to work nicely.  Of course, I always prefer to wire things together because it’s more durable in the long run.  I had to almost sew the mane to the neck with fine wire to get it to stay put and stand upright rather than flop, but I think it was worth the effort.

The tail was made with various lengths, weights, and styles of chains.  I gave this horse a shorter tail, as most draft horses have small tails.

Draft Horse

– Made with 17 gauge steel fencing wire, fine craft wire for attaching some things, and various found items and chain.

– Measures 8 inches long by 7 inches tall by 3 inches wide.

Thank you for looking. 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2013 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Draft Horse Wire Sculpture

  1. willowandthetatertots

    July 29, 2013 at 6:53 PM

    this would make a great christmas present

     
    • Jenna

      July 29, 2013 at 7:31 PM

      Thanks for the nice comment, willowandthetatertots! It is available for sale if you are interested. 🙂

       
  2. Anyluckypenny

    July 30, 2013 at 4:47 PM

    Wow! This is incredible! Wonderful work Jenna 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      July 31, 2013 at 10:38 AM

      Hi Anyluckypenny. Thank you so much for the generous comments! I’m so happy you like my sculpture. 🙂

       
  3. Cassie Bouska

    August 10, 2013 at 10:43 PM

    I like him!

     
    • Jenna

      August 12, 2013 at 12:13 PM

      Thank you, Cassie! 🙂

       
  4. Linda

    August 21, 2013 at 7:08 PM

    Jenna – how much do you want for this guy? And is the Show Horse available? Wondering about that one too. – Thanks – Linda

     
    • Jenna

      August 22, 2013 at 2:39 PM

      Hi Linda. Thanks so much for your interest! I’ve contacted you via private message over at WetCanvas, so we can discuss things further there. Thanks again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
