RSS

My First Art Show

20 Aug

I’m sorry to have gone on such a dry spell with my blog, dear readers.  I have been quite overwhelmed, and happily so, with my first art show.  It is called Ashley for the Arts, and it’s a wonderful annual event that encourages artists of all kinds to gather and show their work.  The show was held on August 10th, and it was a beautiful day to be out and about with many other talented and wonderful local artists.

With a lot of help along the way from family and friends, I have spent the last couple of months preparing for this show.  It is a juried event, and I was so honored when I learned I had gotten into the show earlier this summer.  As soon as I was sure I was in, preparations for the show began.  Suddenly, my conversations were consumed with the topics of theme, design, layout, and such.  I ordered a white 10×10 foot tent and purchased some other supplies such as business cards, a table, tablecloths, and supplies to make things such as the screen that holds my original drawings (check out the photos below).  I borrowed and repurposed a lot of things as well, which I really enjoy doing.  You may recognize the bowler hat from this post, and the little ladies shoes from this post.  From the start, I was hoping to put them into my tent to add to the old fashioned theme of the tent.  I was going for sort of an old elegant (picture the 1920s) theme, but in the end, it morphed into a somewhat farm themed tent.  That was ok though, because many of my drawings and sculptures are farm animals.  During all the planning for the setup, I was also trying to churn out as many wire sculptures as I could.  You may notice a couple in the photos that I haven’t posted about yet.  All in good time. 🙂

I was pleasantly surprised by the reactions to my artwork, and I had many visitors and a lot of encouraging comments on what I do.  It was great fun to reach out and talk with other artists.  There are many talented artists at the show, and I only wish I could have explored their displays, but alas, I had to stay with my own.  I did make a number sales, which was wonderful.  It was just fun to be out on a perfect day, breezy, sunny, in the mid-70s for temperatures.

The show began at 10:00, but we got there at 7:00 to set up.  It was quite a rush getting everything up and ready in time, the tent up and staked, the tables in place, the tablecloths draped just so, the original drawings hung up on the screen, the sculptures set out, and the art notecards, the photo notecards, prints, and copies of my book all in their places.  Toward the front of the tent, I had a small table set up to offer business cards and Smarties candies.  The candy proved to be a hit.  The manikin hand is wearing a beautiful purple wristlet, which was made and given to me by a good friend, Jana.  She is a very talented knitter and does amazing work!  Please check out her blog here.

Once we were all set up (my mom helped me out all day – thanks, Mom! 🙂 ), people were beginning to meander on the sidewalk and explore the tents.  There was not much time between visitors, I am happy to say, and we ate lunch standing behind the tent, quickly gobbling sub sandwiches and guzzling water and sodas to stay hydrated.  It was so wonderful to have such a turnout, and some of my family came to offer support as well.  Thanks for popping in, everyone!  🙂

Another fun part about the show was that my tent was right across the sidewalk from a large field where they launched hot air balloons.  It was such a sight to see!

So that’s pretty much how my first show was.  It was very exciting and fun and exhausting and uplifting all at once.  I hope to do more shows in the future.  At long last, I will now share my photos with you.  Enjoy, and thank you for looking!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2013 in Odds and Ends (Uncategorized)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “My First Art Show

  1. janukke

    August 20, 2013 at 4:13 AM

    Wow, your tent looks lovely! You put an amazing amount of care into all the details. I cannot say what I love best. Those wire sculptures look amazing on the mirror, the white frame you used for your postcards is just lovely, as is the table underneath and the wooden boxes go really well with it all. Please show us more close-ups of the new wire sculptures, if you have any! 🙂

    All put together, it is very impressive to see how many drawings and artwork you have done!

     
    • Jenna

      August 20, 2013 at 1:32 PM

      Thanks so much. Jana. I’m happy you like the setup. It was a lot of fun to do this, and a lot of work. Thanks! Putting the sculptures on a mirror was a great idea of my mom’s, and I too like the look of it. I’m so happy you like the photo card display. I used an old window for that, propped on our kitchen chair. 🙂

      Thanks so much for all the support and encouragement! I’ll be posting more about my sculptures soon. I hope to get back into the blogging groove now. 🙂

       
  2. Rick Watson

    August 22, 2013 at 12:09 AM

    Great job. You displayed everything so well and had so much variety. You’re certainly a multi-talented artist! On to your next show…

     
    • Jenna

      August 22, 2013 at 2:41 PM

      Hi Rick. So nice to see you here! 🙂 Thank you for the great comments on my art show setup. I really appreciate it.

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    August 24, 2013 at 10:05 PM

    Congratulations on your first art show Jenna ! Wow, what a wonderful set up, you really did a great job. I love how you displayed your prints in the crates, what a good idea, and I am so jealous, I would love to have crates like these ! I also love how you displayed your books. I’m glad for you that you made sales, how encouraging ! I can feel all the excitement by reading your post and looking at your pictures. It must have been a wonderful experience and a great day !

     
    • Jenna

      August 25, 2013 at 12:40 PM

      Thank you, Jocelyne! I’m so happy you like my setup and tent. The boxes have been on my home farm for as long as I can remember, so we just applied a few coats of clear coat to them to brighten them up a bit and they worked just perfectly for the prints. The box with the books, however, is a new piece I loved enough to buy for the book display. 🙂 Thanks! It was great fun to have made sales. I really enjoyed the show. Thanks again for the comments!

       
  4. Jo Castillo

    August 24, 2013 at 11:20 PM

    Everything looks fantastic. You would never know it was a first show! Woohoo! Congratulations!

     
    • Jenna

      August 25, 2013 at 12:41 PM

      Hi Jo. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! I appreciate it. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
