RSS

Pinto

25 Aug

Hi everyone, Well, you may have seen a glimpse of this horse in my Art Show post, but I thought I would give the sculpture its own post.  This is one of the first times I have combined black and silver wire to create a color combination in wire sculpture.  I rather like the effect and plan to do more like this.  Originally, I was going to make an all black horse, but the black wire (dark annealed wire) is sort of slick and extra flexible, so it does not hold form as well as my usual steel wire.  In the end, I had to use black wire more as an embellishment than for the foundation.

One of the more difficult parts of this sculpture was finding chain in the right brownish-black color to go with the dark wire.  I did find some though, and I am glad for that because this horse needed a pretty mane and tail.  I added a feather embellishment to the mane because this somehow looked like an Indian horse.

Pinto

– Made with 17 gauge steel wire (silver in color) and 16 gauge dark annealed wire (black color), as well as various chains (some black, some silver), and embellishments.

– Measures 7 &1/2 inches tall by 8 inches long by 3 inches wide.

I hope you enjoy.  Thanks for looking!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in All Artwork, Sculpture & Mixed Media

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pinto

  1. ART by IMI

    August 26, 2013 at 1:51 AM

    It’s great! I’d love to have a go at a different type of art. You’ve really got the shape perfect.

     
    • Jenna

      August 26, 2013 at 11:25 AM

      Thanks so much, ART by IMI! I’m glad you like this. It’s a lot of fun to try new things. You never know what’s out there until you try. 🙂 I appreciate you kind comments so much.

       
  2. Inspired and pretty

    September 9, 2013 at 8:58 PM

    I love it with the two wires, it’s different and it’s so very beautiful ! You should definitively do more of these. I also really love the chains, where did you find them to match the wire ? Superb Jenna ! 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 11, 2013 at 4:22 PM

      Hi Jocelyne. Thank you! I’m so glad you like the two wire colors. I enjoyed trying that out as well, and do plan to make more like this. In my studio closet is a hanger that is full of chains of many descriptions and colors, some new, some old, that I’ve collected over the years. The chain I ended up using is new from an art store. I saw it for a great sale price and picked it up before I even started this sculpture. The way the color worked out was fortunate, as I did not plan for it. Thanks so much for the wonderful comments!

       

Leave a Reply

 
