RSS

Keweenaw Peninsula

16 Sep

Last week, I went up to the Keweenaw Peninsula for a vacation.  It was fun, beautiful, and very relaxing.  We had a lakefront cottage we stayed in that was wonderful, and the view of Lake Superior was excellent.  We sat out there for hours while there, just watching the water crash on the shore.  The shoreline was a red rocky beach and even though it’s September, we wandered down into the water some.  The water was surprisingly comfortable to be in even thought it was sweatshirt weather.  The natural beauty up in that peninsula was breathtaking.  There were waterfalls, thick, dense forest, and of course, beautiful views of the grand lake.  Lake Superior is one of the most beautiful places I know.

One of the best parts of the vacation was the covered canopy drive, where the trees closed over the road completely so it was a lush, green shelter.  It was rainy when we drove through there, and I am glad for that because it seemed to make the greens brighter and the bark and ground blacker.  It was beyond description how beautiful it was, so I might as well share some photos now.  I hope you enjoy.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2013 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Keweenaw Peninsula

  1. Living Beyoutofully

    September 16, 2013 at 11:45 AM

    Wow looks so peaceful and lovely there with all the nature. Your photographs make me wish I was there! Really good images you have here – looks again-. Have a great week : )

     
    • Jenna

      September 16, 2013 at 9:51 PM

      Hi Living Beyoutofully. Thanks so much. It was very peaceful and relaxing. I enjoyed it very much. I’m happy you like the pictures. Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. 🙂

       
      • Living Beyoutofully

        September 16, 2013 at 11:25 PM

        No problem at all! By the way Jenny, you can call me Bree ( I just changed my username to Living Beyoutofully to reflect one of my newest blogs here on WordPress : )

         
      • Jenna

        September 17, 2013 at 11:11 AM

        Well hi, Bree. I thought the avatar picture looked like yours, but thought it must have been a coincidence. Your new blog is really nicely designed and I like the positive messages you share, especially the one about outfits being too tight, short and small. For the record, you can call me Jenna (or Jen if you’d like). Jenna’s my full name rather than Jenny or Jennifer. 🙂 Thanks again for the comments. Have a great day!

         
  2. janukke

    September 16, 2013 at 5:17 PM

    That´s beautiful. And so inspiring! I am sure your art will profit from your trip. 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 16, 2013 at 9:52 PM

      Jana, thank you so much. I am so happy you like the photos. I hope it does bring inspiration to my artwork. 🙂 So nice to hear from you!

       
  3. Inspired and pretty

    September 25, 2013 at 8:37 PM

    What a beautiful place. This is such a grand lake ! Your photos are excellent. I really loved the first close-ups of the waves, these photos are superb. The sunsets, the skies, wonderful shots ! And this road… How beautiful it is ! A great post Jenna 🙂

     
    • Jenna

      September 26, 2013 at 10:26 PM

      It was indeed a beautiful place to visit, Jocelyne. Lake Superior is amazing! Have you seen it? You would love it! Thank you! It means so much to hear you like my photos. I took over 800 photos on the trip, so only a fraction of them ended up here. I appreciate you kind comments so much! Thank you. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
